July 2013 book list

Books I’ve already talked about
Picture Book Monday
Tam Lin by Pamela Dean
Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown
Swordspoint by Ellen Kushner
Gaudy Night by Dorothy Sayers
Queen of Attolia and King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
Deep Secret by Diana Wynne Jones
House of Shadows by Rachel Neumeier and my reaction this time
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (which, that review, hah). This time around, I liked it but felt bothered by the distance from the female characters, by Colin’s self-centeredness.

Other books
Nightshifted by Cassie Alexander: I’d heard good things about this urban fantasy, and it was definitely fun. On the other hand, I didn’t find very much to relate to in the main character. I think partly, I’m just not an urban fantasy person. Or maybe I haven’t been reading the right ones? I don’t know.

King of Ithaka by Tracey Barrett: A retelling of the Odyssey from the point of view of Telemakos. Barrett does a marvelous job of creating a sense of place and time, and the theme of coming to terms with family is nicely done.

The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen: I love Sarah Addison Allen so much. And The Peach Keeper is beautiful. I loved the relationship between the sisters. I do think that Garden Spells is my favorite of her books so far.

Agent to the Stars by John Scalzi: Scalzi at his slap-stickiest. I enjoyed it a ton, but probably will re-read the Old Man’s War series, or Redshirts, more often.

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman: This book has had tons of praise heaped on it, and deservedly so. It’s short, but that makes it exactly the right length–any longer and it would be bloated. It’s full of mythological resonances and beautiful imagery.

Carolina Girl by Victoria Kantra: This was a nice, light contemporary romance, but I didn’t have a lot of investment in the characters or the relationship. It’s also possible I was in the wrong mood that day.

The Unexpected Mrs. Pollifax by Dorothy Gilman: A friend of mine recommended this series, and I’m really glad she did! They’re really enjoyable. A cozy spy thriller, if you can imagine such a thing. It naturally gets comparisons to Miss Marple, but really Mrs. Pollifax and Miss Marple are quite different, in personality, temperament, and outlook on life.

Mortal Fire by Elizabeth Knox: My feelings on this book are so complicated. On the one hand, I loved so much of the writing and premise, and the main character. I loved the way it engaged thoughtfully with issues of race and history. On the other hand, the pacing seemed very off in the middle section, and I was oddly put off by Ghislain’s character. Still, I think there are lots of fascinating things about this book, and I hope there are some good discussions about it.

Mendoza in Hollywood by Kage Baker: So, um, I totally thought this was the last in the Company series. I was wrong! Quite a bit of the book was slow, and I’m not sure if I’ll keep reading the series or not. Although once the plot started to move, it did add quite a bit to the overall series.

The Water Castle by Megan Frazer Blakemore
The Elementals by Saundra Mitchell
The Whatnot by Stefan Bachmann–review in September
The Bitter Kingdom–review later this month!
The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater–review in September (sorry)

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

8 responses to “July 2013 book list

  1. I have succumbed to all the Bitter Kingdom buzz on Twitter and have finally gotten around to putting the first book on hold at the library.

  2. I find Mrs. Polifax rather comforting myself!

  3. I have Carolina Girl sitting on my shelf right now. I won’t be getting to it for a while though.

    I also have review of The Bitter Kingdom and The Whatnot coming out at the same time as you! (Yay Edelweiss)

  4. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: Ancient history | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

