October book list

Another View by Rosamund Pilcher: A sweet story, which kept me entertained for an evening.

At Bertram’s Hotel by Agatha Christie
The Moving Finger by Agatha Christie
A Pocket Full of Rye by Agatha Christie: These were in a multi-volume book I bought. I think my favorite was The Moving Finger, although it was fun to revisit all of them.

An Abundance of Katherines by John Green: My first John Green. I enjoyed it quite a bit. It’s definitely a book about teenage boys.

Winter Rose by Patricia McKillip: Another Tam Lin retelling. Perilous Gard and Fire and Hemlock are still my favorites, with Pamela Dean’s version and this one a close tie behind them. This is a looser retelling, but the structure is very much there.

The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner
: I had never read the current complete series in order, so I decided it was time. I love these books so much, including CofK (it’s taken me three reads to decide that I really do love it, but I do).

The Demon’s Lexicon by Sarah Rees Brennan: I guessed the twist pretty early on, but this is still a great book.

The Queen’s Man by Sharon Kay Penman: A medieval murder mystery, focusing on Justin de Quincy, illegitimate son of the Bishop of Chester, who agrees to investigate a murder on behalf of Eleanor of Aquitaine. I like Penman’s work and this was a little lighter glimpse into the world of her other medieval books.

Pistols for Two by Georgette Heyer: Short stories, which I always expect to like more than I do. I think that in general short story collections tend to not hold to a second reading for me.

Shards of Honor by Lois McMaster Bujold: First book in the Vorkosigan series. I really loved it–smart character driven sci-fi? Yes, please! You can read a longer review {HERE}.

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater: Just as good, if not better than Shiver. Full review {HERE}.

Fairy Tale by Cyn Balog: This one drove me crazy. The narrator kept saying things like, “I don’t want to sound shallow” and then proceeding to sound incredibly shallow. I think the same story from Pip’s point of view would have been fascinating; as it was, I just wanted to slap everyone.

The Demon’s Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan: I loooveed this book. There’s a particular line from the end that’s really just stuck with me and makes me want to cry every time I think about it. You can read more about why I loved it {HERE}.

The Court of the Stone Children by Eleanor Cameron: I never quite connected to the characters on this one. Somehow the children didn’t seem very much like children, or at least their dialogue didn’t. In Odile’s case this makes perfect sense, but for Nina it’s a bit more problematic.

Medicus by Ruth Downie: Roman-era mystery. Enjoyable, but I don’t feel any huge need to search out the rest of the books at the moment.

Royal Assassin by Robin Hobb: Second book in the Farseer Trilogy. My reaction was pretty much the same as for the first one, but you can read more about that {HERE}.

Secret Water by Arthur Ransome: Yay, Arthur Ransome! This book is great. Review {HERE}.

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli: Really not a fan of this one, which seemed weirdly preachy. Review {HERE}.

The Shifter by Janice Hardy: Really interesting premise, but I had a hard time connecting to the characters. Review {HERE}.

Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi: Really fascinating scifi, with some great characters and solid worldbuilding. Besides, the author’s name is really cool. More {HERE}.

Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork: I thought this was extremely well done and, even more, a sweet and relatable story. More {HERE}.

A Countess Below Stairs by Eva Ibbotson: This book made me cry (World War I: making me cry since 9th grade) . But it’s a really sweet story and I definitely liked it.

The Reluctant Heiress by Eva Ibbotson: I liked this one a little bit less, just because the hero wasn’t quite as sympathetic. Still a nice read.

Silent on the Moor by Deanna Raybourn: A satisfying book. I’m not sure if it’s meant to be the end of the series or not. If it is, everything wraps up nicely. If not, I could see that working too.

Cruel as the Grave by Sharon Kay Penman: I didn’t enjoy this one quite as much as the first. Justin seemed a little less sympathetic as a character somehow.

Plain Kate by Erin Bow: I loved this book. More coming on that soon.

Shades of Milk and Honey by Mary Robinette Kowal: One of the most interesting magical systems I’ve come across in a long time. Unfortunately, the historical aspect was a bit weak. More {HERE}.

The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber: This was kind of the opposite of Shades of Milk and Honey–the historical details were well done, while the fantasy part and the romance were both a bit eye-roll inducing. I think that Percy as a character needs to feel older than she does, which is partly because she is constantly–and I mean CONSTANTLY–giggling or squealing.

Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold: I liked this one tons as well. I was intrigued by the one-sided view of Barrayar that we got in this book and wondered through the whole thing if we would see things differently in the next book, when we got Miles’ point of view.

11 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

11 responses to “October book list

  1. Mimi

    I like Penman immensely, but I’m not a huge fan of her mysteries.

  2. Pingback: Young Miles (Vorgkosigan series) « By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: May 2012 book list | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Patricia McKillip | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: Megan Whalen Turner | By Singing Light

  7. Pingback: July 2013 book list | By Singing Light

  8. Pingback: Lois McMaster Bujold | By Singing Light

  9. Pingback: Favorite Authors: Sarah Rees Brennan | By Singing Light

  10. Pingback: Historical Fantasies: Victorian era | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

