TBR Readathon: Update 1

tbr readathon

Weeellll, the first five days of August have gone by, and my TBR list depletion has not progressed at a wonderfully great rate. Here’s the situation right now:

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood: I, regretfully, DNF’d this one (did not finish, for those of you not fluent in Book Blogger). There were two main reasons: I felt myself getting more and more depressed, and I felt very preached at. I know this is a classic of modern SF, and I appreciate it being in the world, but I didn’t force myself to finish.

The Janus Affair by Pip Ballantine: It turns out this is the second book of a series, and since I haven’t read the first, that’s a problem! I’ve requested the first one and if it comes in quickly enough I’ll just substitute it for the second book.

The Lost Kingdom by Matthew Kirby: The only one I’ve actually managed to finish! And it’s an ARC that’s out in September, so I don’t want to say too much about it. But I will say that the concept is really interesting, and I thought it was well executed.

My (ambitious) List:
Poems by Akhmatova
The Last Academy by Anne Applegate
The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood–DNF
Pure by Juliana Baggott
The Janus Affair by Pip Ballantine–hopefully my hold will come in
Flip by Martyn Bedford
Echo by Alicia Brewster
Tortilla Sun by Jennifer Cervantes
Savage Fortress by Sarwat Chadda
Rusalka by CJ Cherryh
The Pirate’s Wish by Cassandra Rose Clarke
The Lost Sun by Tessa Gratton
The Princess Curse by Merrie Haskell
The Lost Kingdom by Matthew Kirby–finished!
The Wig in the Window by Kristen Kittscher
The Caged Graves by Dianne Salemi
The Berlin Boxing Club by Robert Sharenow
Poetry of Vernon Watkins
The Chaos of Stars by Kierstin White
P.S. Be Eleven by Rita Williams-Garcia
In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters
Golden Girl by Sarah Zettel

Also, while I’m not doing Top Ten Tuesday this week, you should check out everyone else’s posts here.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

5 responses to “TBR Readathon: Update 1

  1. I loved The Handmaid’s Tale, but I can see how it’s not for everyone. Good luck for the rest of your challenge.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, I think it’s definitely a your-mileage-may-vary book. Which is fine! I’m glad it has fans, even if I’m not one of them. And thank you for the comment.

  2. Until now, I thought I was alone in finding The Handmaid’s Tale preachy.

    BTW, Rusalka is the only book by CJC that I really didn’t like. I wound up actually giving that trilogy away. But of course, your mileage may vary.

    • Maureen Eichner

      It’s always nice to have someone to share your opinions with!

      Ah, good to know. I haven’t really started it–dipped into the first few pages, I think. I’ve been interested in Russian-based SF/F for some time now, so I was coming at it primarily from that angle.

  3. Pingback: August 2013 book list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

