Picture Book Monday: July 2013

new arrivalFirst of all a plea to all picture book authors out there: just because it’s a picture book doesn’t mean it needs to rhyme! In a recent batch of new picture books, I read three in a row that rhymed. And I’ll be blunt–they weren’t good poetry AT ALL.

I finally read Click, Clack, Moo–I know! I am a terrible children’s librarian. It was lots of fun, and I can definitely see why it’s a classic.

We got a biography of Irena Sendler, by Susan Rubin Goldman, which I read through and which nearly made me start sobbing at the desk. She just passed away, so this seems sort of awfully appropriate. I thought the book did a nice job of balancing awful details with being truthful about what was happening.

Binky to the Rescue, and Binky Takes Charge, by Ashley Spires, are two fun graphic novely books. There are tons of dog books out there, so these are a valuable resource for the cat people.

I really liked The Watermelon Seed, by Greg Pizzoli. A little crocodile loves his watermelon, until one day he swallows a seed! Fun art and a nice story–plus, I will admit, it made me think of Maureen Johnson and her watermelon eating ways.

But maybe my favorite picture book this month was the utterly charming The New Arrival by Vanya Nastanlieva. Sam moves into a new home and, wanting a friend, puts up a sign to that effect. But the wind blows the sign away, leaving Sam in despair. The writing was lovely and the illustrations were really beautiful.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, Picture Book Monday, reviews

5 responses to “Picture Book Monday: July 2013

  1. Oh, I hear you on the ryhming! My standard of judging verse is whether or not I fiddle with it when I read it outloud to the kids…Dr. Seuss I never changed, but there were lots of others….

    The New Arrival does look awfully cute!

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes–and a lot of it is that it’s basically prose in rhyming form. There’s no actual sense of poetics in image or form.

  2. Pingback: July 2013 book list | By Singing Light

  3. I realize this post is a month old–but have you read A Screaming Kind of Day? Rachna Gilmore, splendid. I keep trying to give you adjectives but the ones I can come up with all belong to food or painting or something other than this. It’s balanced, just sparse enough to not take anything away, makes no excuses, perfectly captures this fantastic KID. I love it.

Leave a Reply

