July 2014 reading list

Books I’ve already talked about
Picture Book Monday
Palace of Stone by Shannon Hale
Adventures of Superhero Girl by Faith Erin Hicks
Biggest Flirts by Jennifer Echols
Those Who Hunt the Night by Barbara Hambly
Alchemy of Fire by Gillian Bradshaw
Landline by Rainbow Rowell
I also re-read all of Laura Florand’s books in preparation for this guest post
The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
The Exiles at Home by Hilary McKay
A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner (and I shared some favorite quotes on Tumblr)
A Posse of Princesses by Sherwood Smith–on this read, the judgement of the other girls annoyed me a bit
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Other books
Deliverer by C.J. Cherryh: I don’t remember this book. All of the Bren Cameron stories are starting to meld together a bit. I enjoyed it, because I’ve found the most recent books in the series to be excellent, but I couldn’t tell you which one this is to save my life.

A Lily Among Thorns by Rose Lerner: My friend B. recommended Rose Lerner to me, and specifically A Lily Among Thorns, since she knows I like Cecilia Grant’s books a lot. And yes, I did very much liked this one! It’s a more grounded version of Regency romances–not a duke or a marquess in sight (well, one or two, sort of). I had to strain my credulity a tad at the end, but I was happy to do so.

Princeless, vol. 1 by Jeremy Whitley: Graphic novel about a black princess who takes off with the dragon that’s supposed to be guarding her tower. If you sat up and said, “ooh!”, then this is for you. While I didn’t feel that it went very deep, I really liked the thoughtful commentary on families and narratives and choices.

The Last Light of the Sun by Guy Gavriel Kay: I’ve really enjoyed Kay’s sweeping historical fantasies in the past, especially the Sarantium duology. Many of the same elements are present in this one, but I didn’t personally feel all that invested in the characters, and I felt somewhat irked by the way the incidental peasant appeared, had their entire life summed up (significant events occurring only in proximity to the main characters, of course), and was dismissed.

The Great Trouble by Deborah Hopkinson: Historical fiction about the Blue Plague (cholera) epidemic in London in the 1850s, and the scientific advances that led to its halt. Unfortunately, characters and plot take a back seat to Historical Details. I ended up wishing that this had simply been non-fiction, since it would have been much more engaging without also trying to be a story.

The Ogre Downstairs by Diana Wynne Jones: I apparently have never reviewed this book here! In fact, I’m not entirely sure if I’ve read it before. It’s a bit of a weird one, but as the story of a blended family learning to live with each other. There are some attitudes about corporal punishment that will likely read as old-fashioned to many people; I noticed them, but they didn’t jolt me out of the story, personally speaking.

Major Crush by Jennifer Echols: Brandy read this one recently and I realized that although I’ve read almost all of Echols’s other books, I hadn’t tried this one. It definitely reads as a first novel, in retrospect, but I enjoyed it quite a bit. Certainly not the strongest of her books, but if you’re looking for an entertaining romance, it’s one to check out.

3 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

3 responses to “July 2014 reading list

  1. “The Last Light of the Sun” is the only GGK I’ve ever tried reading. I disliked it so much that I haven’t picked up another. 😦 A bad one to start with, perhaps? I really should get around to reading some of his other stuff.

    • Maureen Eichner

      YES. I would try the Sarantium books (Sailing to Sarantium/Lord of Emperors) or Under Heaven (ancient China). Of course you may still not like his books, but either of those are better than Last Light of the Sun.

  2. Major Crush is an obvious first book, but man do I love marching band books and wish there were more. But that was my scene in high school, so understandable.

    Meanwhile, I read Such a Rush and 😍. LOVED. IT.

Leave a Reply

