September 2013 book list

Books I’ve already talked about
The Lost Kingdom by Matthew Kirby
the entire Dark is Rising series by Susan Cooper
Picture Book Monday
Island of Ghosts and Hawk of May by Gillian Bradshaw
The Pale Horse by Agatha Christie
Thomas the Rhymer by Ellen Kushner
Echo by Alicia Wright Brewster
Handbook for Dragon Slayers by Merrie Haskell
Far Far Away by Tom McNeal
Starglass by Phoebe North
The Different Girl by Gordon Dahlquist
Black Helicopters by Blythe Woolston
Shadowcry by Jenna Burtenshaw
Relish by Lucy Knisley
Night Watch by Terry Pratchett
Maggot Moon by Sally Gardner

Others
Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow: Review here.

26 Women Aviators by Karen Bush Gibson: This was a nice introduction to a number of pioneering women aviators. I’d recommend it for upper elementary school/middle school kids. I did have a sense that some things were a bit glossed over, which is natural, I suppose.

Sailing to Sarantium by Guy Gavriel Kay: Tori recommended this one, and I’m really glad I picked it up! Great historical fantasy, set in a world based on the Byzantine Empire, with a fascinating cast of characters. I can’t wait to see what happens in the sequel!

Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan: I’m not going to do this one justice in this small space, but basically I thought I was prepared for the worst that could happen. I really wasn’t. Like The Dream Thieves, I finished the book and immediately wanted to throw it across the room, not because I disliked it, but because I couldn’t handle my feeelllllinnnnngssss. What’s with this year-between-books business, anyway?

Secret of the Mansion by Julie Campbell: The first Trixie Belden book. This book is wild. Within about 200 pgs, we have concussion, multiple snake bits, people falling off of horses, fires, broken ankles, and lost treasure. It was something to marvel at, if not exactly admire.

Guards! Guards! by Terry Pratchett: I didn’t like this one nearly as well as Night Watch–I missed competant and resourceful Captain Vimes. But I definitely like it more than most of the other Discworld books (always barring Tiffany Aching, which I adore!).

Course of Honor by Lindsey Davis: Amanda McCrina recommended this one to me–historical fiction based in ancient Rome, which could be described as historical romance except that the romantic plot is so utterly unlike anything else I can think of. It takes place over a long period of time–nearly forty years, if I’m remembering correctly–and the characters spend quite a bit of time apart. And yet, it’s totally real and wonderful. Lovely writing as well; I definitely recommend this to anyone who’s looking for politics and understated romance.

10 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

10 responses to “September 2013 book list

  1. Well, Guards, Guards is Vimes’ first outing, so it’s important in terms of setting the stage for his future developement. Although Night Watch will always be my favorite, there are bits of gemishness in the other City Watch books too!

  2. Tori

    I am so glad you liked Sailing to Sarantium! I love getting book recommendations right.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I did! I really want to read Lord of Emperors, but I have no time anymore. *weeps* Thank you for telling me about them!

      • Tori

        I wound up so desperate to find out what was going to happen that I the friend who had recommended them to me and made her tell me. (I think I liked Lord of Emperors even better.)

  3. Yay! I’m so glad you liked Course of Honor. I was so pleasantly surprised by it.

    I feel guilty for having never really read Guy Gavriel Kay. I gave The Last Light of the Sun a try once (many years ago now) but I was too young for it, I think. I keep meaning to pick him up again, and subsequently keep failing to. 😦

    • Maureen Eichner

      I’m just now discovering him–I bounced hard off of the Fionavar Trilogy, but have really liked the historical fantasy I’ve read so far.

  4. Pingback: Favorite Authors: Sarah Rees Brennan | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: July 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

  6. Pingback: Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

