August book list

Song for the Basilisk by Patricia McKillip: Full review here. Short version: one of McKillip’s best. If you’re a fan of her books, read it.

Dreamdark: Silksinger by Laini Taylor: Full review here. Short version: a very strong sequel with wonderful worldbuilding.

The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket: I went to Salvation Army and bought a whole bunch of books for 15 cents each. This was one–I hadn’t read it in years and enjoyed it again.

Cotillion by Georgette Heyer: Another 15 cent book. YAY! Because I love this book, even if I still haven’t solved the mystery of the title. I think this one really stands up to, and actually demands, re-reading. At first glance the main characters seems sort of silly, but on a re-read one realizes that they actually have more substance than it appears. And any comparisons to Freddy Threepwood, of Leave it to Psmith fame, are totally unjustified. (Full review here.)

Heist Society by Ally Carter: I’m sure this is being billed as an Ocean’s Eleven for kids. It is definitely that kind of light enjoyable fluff. However, I actually saw more parallels to one of my favorite old movies, “How to Steal a Million.” And it’s not just the Audrey Hepburn look-alike on the cover. Like I said, definitely fluff, but also a lot of fun.

Slob by Ellen Potter: Full review here. An unexpectedly sweet story with a lot of heart.

Magic Below Stairs by Caroline Stevermer: Full review here. It would have been a lot of fun at the right age; at this point, I’ll stick to the main Kate and Cecy books.

Devil’s Cub by Georgette Heyer: Reviewed {here}. I loved this book when I first read it, and I love it now.

Gateway by Sharon Shinn: Reviewed {here}. Good but not outstanding. If you’re in the mood for a decent fantasy with an interesting multicultural bent, give it a try.

The Magic Thief: Lost by Sarah Prineas: A bit of a let-down compared to the first. Still, nice to see the characters again. Reviewed {here}.

Black is the Colour of my True-love’s Heart by Ellis Peters: This is becoming one of my favorite Felse stories. It’s sweet and bitter, beautiful and tragic. A lot like the music it describes.

The Exiles by Hilary McKay: A great story, full of misadventures and laughs. Reviewed {here}.

Thirteen to Dinner by Agatha Christie: I hadn’t read this one in a long time. Not her strongest, but interesting as always.

The ABC Murders by Agatha Christie: The murderer is fairly obvious, but I like the other characters. And we get Hastings as a narrator, which I always enjoy.

Cards on the Table by Agatha Christie: These three were in a five-novel collection. The funny thing is, the plot of Cards on the Table is mentioned in one of the other books. I think it’s Thirteen to Dinner. Anyway, it made their being collected together a bit more interesting.

Bog Child by Siobhan Dowd: An intriguing mix of recent historical fiction and fantasy. Reviewed {here}.

All-of-a-kind Family by Sidney Taylor: Reviewed full {here}. Short version–I love this story of a family growing up in New York in the early 1900s.

Ash by Malinda Lo: I was intrigued by the twists of this Cinderella re-telling, but I never connected fully with any of the characters, and I didn’t believe the setting at all.

The Merchant’s Mark by Pat McIntosh: The third Gil Cunningham mystery. Fun again, and I really enjoyed the introduction of Gil’s sister Kate. I also loved the fact that once again McIntosh takes the characters’ faith seriously.

The Four-story Mistake by Elizabeth Enright: A favorite from my childhood. Reviewed {here}

Mistress of the Art of Death> by Ariana Franklin: Another medieval mystery, but somehow more adult and darker. I didn’t enjoy it quite as much, to be honest, but I might try the next one to see how I like it.

The Exiles at Home by Hilary McKay: Hilariously funny. I was rolling about in silent laughter the whole time (silent because there were people sleeping). I really need to get my hands on the third book!

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall: The sequel to The Penderwicks and, in my opinion, even better than the first book. Sweet, funny, and touching.

The Magical Misadventures of Prunella Bogthistle by Deva Fagin: I feel like I have very little sense of how I actually felt about this book, which might be due to the fact that I read it in chunks. Overall, I found it different (in a good way) but not entirely wowing.

White Cat by Holly Black: I really enjoyed this book a LOT. Reviewed {here}.

Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken: Very well done! I enjoyed it a lot. The one minor complaint I have is that in a few places it seemed like Sydella’s emotional reaction to something was sort of glossed over or hurried by.

St. Mungo’s Robin by Pat McIntosh: Fourth Gil Cunningham mystery. As Gil’s wedding day approaches, he finds himself beset by all sorts of difficulties, not the least of which is his bride’s somewhat mysterious behavior. In the end, it all winds up satisfactorily.

Mockingbird by Kathryn Erskine: Not Mockingjay, which is a bird of another sort altogether. This is a fascinating and sometimes heartbreaking glimpse into the world of Caitilin, a girl with Asperger’s Syndrome, who has recently lost her brother in one of the most horrific ways possible. You can read Melissa Wiley’s review {here}.

His Life is Mine by Archimandrite Sophrony: By the monk who founded the monastery in Essex, which I have yet to visit (next trip). An excellent book, which felt pastoral–loving and gentle. Encouraging rather than super theological (although it is that too).

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart: As usual, hijinks surround the lives of the four children. Mysteries, puzzles, threatening danger. It was fun, but somehow not quite as big as I was expecting. Still, a great end to the series (I think it’s the end?).

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

6 responses to “August book list

  1. I felt the same way about “Mistress of the Art of Death” – I do have the second one around here (I really like Eleanor of Aquitaine who is a character.) I thought it was pretty grisly.

    I was shocked I only read 6 books in August. It was my least in a long time.

    • Maureen E

      Yeah…I don’t know. I think that after the Gil Cunningham books, which I’ve really been enjoying, this one seemed just a little dark.

      I, erm, had a really good reading month in August. Which is good!

  2. Pingback: November 2012-January 2013 reading list | By Singing Light

  3. Pingback: Georgette Heyer | By Singing Light

  4. Pingback: Hilary McKay | By Singing Light

  5. Pingback: July 2014 reading list | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

