Categories
bookish posts monthly book list

April 2015 round up

Books I’ve already talked about
Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee
Rivals in the City by Y.S. Lee
Black Dog Short Stories by Rachel Neumeier
The Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan
Jaran by Kate Elliott
The Chocolate Kiss by Laura Florand
Such a Rush by Jennifer Echols
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

Other books
The Trouble with Flirting by Claire LaZebnik: A YA retelling of Mansfield Park which I quite enjoyed except that the ending is drastically changed from the book (right??) and it confused me a bit.

Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman: I liked this one, but I missed the intimate scale of Seraphina.

Moribito by Nahoko Uehashi: Japanese historical fantasy. I really liked it!

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor: A couple of people told me I would like this one and they were right. I loved Sunny and her friends, and the rich, evocative writing.

Pyramids of London by Andrea K Höst: I’m not sure I loved this one as much as I’ve loved most of Höst’s books–there was a lot of information and I felt like I wasn’t always super grounded in the world. But it’s the first book in a series, and I am invested enough to want to see where it goes.

Girl on a Wire by Gwenda Bond: Exciting paranormal mystery set in a circus! I liked it quite a bit.

Lulu and the Hamster in the Night by Hilary McKay: I love all of the Lulu books. I love how Mellie and Lulu work together, despite their very different personalities (actually I have just realized that I would love a book from Mellie’s point of view) and I love Nan.

Love is the Drug by Alaya Dawn Johnson: I know there were some issues of accuracy in Johnson’s debut, The Summer Prince, but I loved the writing in that one. And I thought that Love is the Drug was a very strong second book, with a engaging, exciting plot and a cast of diverse, complex characters.

Ida M. Tarbell by Emily Arnold McCully
Washington’s Spies by Alexander Rose

Other posts
Links: 4-15-15
Links: 4-29-15
Made and Making
Competent characters (with some great comments!)
Favorite Authors: Connie Willis
A guest post on representations of Orthodoxy in YA

By Maureen

Librarian, blogger, and more

3 replies on “April 2015 round up”

Girl on a Wire by Gwenda Bond: Exciting paranormal mystery set in a circus!

That sounds Very Fun — I’ve looked up the synopsis also and am getting fond shades of Mirette on the High Wire.

Oh, yes, I loved Mirette! Girl on a Wire is quite fun–there are also echoes of a classic story which I think help give it some depth.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.