Categories
bookish posts

Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite books of 2015 (so far)

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

My initial draft for this list had 26 titles, so I hope you all appreciate how difficult it was to cut it down to (sobs) TEN. That being said, 2015 has been an excellent year in terms of publishing, and we have another six months to look forward to.

bone gapblack dove white ravenunder a painted skyuprootedravensbruck

Bone Gap by Laura Ruby: “While there is darkness here, it’s never utterly bleak. I loved the resolution and the sense of hope hard won.”

Black Dove, White Raven by Elizabeth Wein: “Most of all, though, it’s the story of a brother and sister, who love each other so much that they rescue each other over and over again, who find courage in each other and strength to deal with whatever life brings them.”

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee: “Sammy and Andy’s story is one I found compelling, and hard, and beautiful.”

Uprooted by Naomi Novik: “I have said for awhile of the stories I’m drawn to that they are both the trope and the subversion of the trope, and that’s true in this case as well. ”

Ravensbrück by Sarah Helm: “It is perhaps the tragedy of Ravensbrück that the stories of the women who lived and fought and died and survived have been so forgotten, despite all their efforts. I hope that this amazing and heartbreaking book is another strike against that silence, another way to tell the world.”

ms. marvelnimonagone crazy in alabamaakata witchmurder is bad manners

Ms. Marvel by G. Willow Wilson: “Smart, fun, filled with a YA sensibility. I also loved the way Kamala’s family and faith and culture are woven into the story, how they’re both frustrations and sources of strength.”

NIMONA by Noelle Stevenson: “I wasn’t sure how it would be to read it as a book, but the format worked really well and HarperCollins did a great job with the colors & quality.”

Gone Crazy in Alabama by Rita Williams-Garcia: “I’m sad it’s over, even while I know it’s a great place to leave Delphine and Vonetta and Fern.”

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor: “I loved Sunny and her friends, and the rich, evocative writing. ”

Murder is Bad Manners by Robin Stevens: “I loved this book: I loved the setting, I loved Hazel’s voice, I loved the way her feelings & worries about being a Chinese girl in the middle of a British boarding school were woven into the story.”

By Maureen

Librarian, blogger, and more

6 replies on “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite books of 2015 (so far)”

I really need to read Bone Gap. And I have no idea why I still haven’t read the latest EWein! What is wrong with me. I have Under a Painted Sky and I’m also looking forward to reading that.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.