Categories
links

Links from around the web: 3-9-2016

If there’s one link from this post I’d like you to read, it’s Nicole Brinkley’s look at sexism in YA: “Women built this castle.” It’s extremely well researched and thorough. I can’t even pick a highlight because the whole thing is so necessary and so good.

Next are two responses to the new JK Rowling Magic In North America mess. One is from a Native voice who is very clear about the issues with Native representation, and one is from a non-Native voice who talks about the shoddy worldbuilding inherent in Rowling’s choices. It’s tough to face issues with our favorite authors & books, but this is really important.

This is a pretty fascinating look at the Bookscan data for 2015 comics.  One of the main takeaways? Comics aimed at kids are doing really, REALLY well, as is Ms. Marvel. (I could have done without the “they’re doing great! How awesome and surprising!” framing, however.) I tweeted some more thoughts as I was reading the post.

A really interesting read about the value of considering kindness to users when designing user experiences. I am Not Surprised at some of the responses, but I am glad there are people out there thinking about these things.

In happier news: bee hairpins. BEE HAIRPINS. I neeeed them.

By Maureen

Librarian, blogger, and more

2 replies on “Links from around the web: 3-9-2016”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.