Categories
links

Links from around the web: 3-26-15

– The ongoing messy discussions of sexism & associated issues in YA makes me tired & sad & angry. Several friends have written good responses, including Jenny’s “Why I’m Not ‘Good People’” and Brandy’s “Twitter Turf Wars and Blocking of Criticism”. I also recommend Sarah McCarry’s post here and Ellen Oh’s Storify. There’s lots more to it, and I hope that it leads to productive discussions but at this point I don’t have much hope for that. (It’s probably clear that I’m not supporting Andrew Smith, and I’m still mulling over whether to try to talk about that here.) I’m not even engaging with the horrifically misguided Telegraph article that claims that people voluntarily choosing to not read books by white men for a year “has the beginnings of something altogether more sinister” but yes, that happened too. This has been a wild couple of weeks. Anne Ursu also rounded up several examples from ONE WEEK that highlight why women are angry about these issues.

– However, Preeti Chhibber started a great hashtag called #womeninfiction, which really took off Saturday night. You can read about it and see some of the tweets here.

– Kelly Jensen at Stacked Books is also running a 2 week series called “About the Girls.” The posts so far have been excellent and thought-provoking.

– This is a nice allegory for consent. Of course, this being the internet, there are a number of commenters attempting to go, “But in THIS circumstance, forcing tea on someone is totally justified!!” which I think proves the original point more than anything else.

– I loved this review of Bone Gap over at The Book Smugglers. (I also loved Bone Gap. You should read it.)

– If you need to practice some self-care and are looking for ideas, this is a great place to start.

NEW BOOK ABOUT CORDELIA VORKOSIGAN!

Awesome fanart portraits of some favorite characters

Cuckoo’s Song is a Carnegie medal finalist!

– Terry Pratchett tributes: How to tell if you’re in a Pratchett novel, which made me cryyy; Tiffany Aching fanart; Tiffany Aching quote

This poem is beautiful and breathtaking and breaks my heart.

By Maureen

Librarian, blogger, and more

One reply on “Links from around the web: 3-26-15”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.