Categories
links

Links from around the web 12-18-13

Thoughts about reviewers tweeting their review at authors, plus a reaction from Leila, and my thoughts.

Nice little video on creativity. (via Rachel Neumeier)

I liked this post from Charlotte about raising kids to be decent sff fans. Nice addition to the ongoing conversations in SFF.

I Want My Hat Back…starring Thor and Loki. (But Volstagg might be my favorite.) (via Beth Saxton on Twitter)

I feel like I missed almost all new adult SFF books this year, so this list looks like a good place to start.

I’ve taken many “Which Tolkien/LotR/Middle-earth character are you?” quizzes over the years. This one had some unique questions. I got Ent one time and Wizard another. (via Chachic)

An interesting post about feisty heroines, although as a commenter noted, feisty may not be the best word.

If you are looking for a good guide to period drama these days, look no further.

And as always, feel free to pass on anything I might be interested in!

By Maureen

Librarian, blogger, and more

3 replies on “Links from around the web 12-18-13”

I can see their point as far as negative reviews go. But as I said in my original comment on Leila’s blog, I think the author of the article & most of his commenters are conflating journalistic reviewers/practices with bloggers, and viewing any sort of author/reviewer contact as dodgy. That’s simply not the case anymore! And personally speaking, you know, I enjoy talking about Doris Egan with you and Laura Florand, for instance. That’s not “chummy.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.