Ten favorite books about sisters

After writing my post for yesterday, I started to think about other books that I love that feature sisters centrally. Sisterhood can be a really powerful theme in books, partially because that relationship can be fraught and complex and intense. (For the record, my own sister is one of my favorite people in the world.) But it’s also a way to look at women in relation with each other in a way that is really special.

These are far from the only books I could have chosen! In fact, narrowing it down to 10 was really tough. (I took out Girls at the Kingfisher Club and Of Mice and Magic, because I suspect you can guess my feelings on those two already.)

Sense & Sensibility by Jane Austen

Chime by Franny Billingsley

The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall

An Inheritance of Ashes by Leah Bobet

PS I Still Love You by Jenny Han

The Lost Conspiracy by Frances Hardinge

Rot and Ruin by Kat Howard

Ballet Shoes by Noel Streatfeild

All of a Kind Family by Sydney Taylor

The Gaither Sisters trilogy by Rita Williams-Garcia

4 Comments

Filed under book lists, bookish posts

4 responses to “Ten favorite books about sisters

  1. Jo in OKC

    Little Women by Louisa Mae Alcott
    The Circle of Magic series & The Will of the Empress by Tamora Pierce (they’re not biological siblings, but they call themselves that)
    Two Princesses of Bamarre by Gail Carson Levine

  2. Aw. I love All of a Kind Family!

  3. My three sisters are some of my favorite people in the world as well, so I super love reading books that are good about sisterhood. I get sniffly at the end of Chime FOR SURE, and Roses and Rot is at the top(ish) of my reading list. Sister stuff foreverrrrrrrrrrrr.

  4. Pingback: October 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

