Made and Making: October 2014

Knitting
I’ve had a pretty active knitting month, hurray!

The Rose Under Fire sweater has progressed: the back is done and the front is done up till the colorwork starts and then I got distracted.

I made a Secret Project (well, not that secret, it is on my Ravelry page) which I will share next month after it gets to its intended recipient.

I also made an Autumn Blush which I decided part way through was going to be for me. I love the Silk Bamboo for this project and am seriously thinking about buying some more (what I had was a gift) so I can make another one.
MEECOMPUTER - WIN_20141030_185756
Terrible picture #1: worn scarf-style*

MEECOMPUTER - WIN_20141030_185940

Terrible picture #2: worn shawl-style

Now that it’s cooled off, I want to finish the Greeny Knots blanket and also knit myself some slippers.

* My digital camera is apparently not working, so I took these with the camera on my computer. TERRIBLE.

Cooking
Leek, Butternut Squash, and Potato Soup: Hearty, filling, and tasty. Can’t argue with that!

– Country Mushroom Soup from the Beatrix Potter Country Cookbook: This was okay, but nowhere near as good as my favorite mushroom soup (the Hungarian Mushroom Soup from the old Moosewood Cookbook).

– Devon Cider and Apple Cake from The Complete Traditional Recipe Book: I have several apple cake recipes I like, and this is definitely one of them. It’s not at all what Americans would think of as a normal apple cake, but it’s a great recipe.

Herb Roasted Whole Chicken: Great recipe, and I highly recommend making stock with the carcass, because the herb rub gives it a great flavor. (I did, and then made chicken noodle soup with even more herbs and lots of garlic and ginger. YUM.)

Baked Pumpkin and Sour Cream Puddings: I was honestly a bit eh on this one, which is unusual for Smitten Kitchen recipes. I think the ratio of sour cream to pumpkin was a bit too low or something.

Pane Integrale (via the Seven Spoons blog): I like no-knead Dutch oven recipes a lot, and this was a nice whole wheat version. I actually upped the whole wheat to half, and it worked wonderfully.

Caramelized Onion and Goat Cheese Cornbread: THIS IS AMAZING. I love the flavors and the texture is really nice too. Next time I make it, I think I’d go for 2 cups of onion and mix half into the batter, for maximum caramelized goodness, but definitely a winner regardless.

Edna Mae’s Sour Cream Pancakes: Very nice flavor. I’m not sure if it was me or my pan or the stove, but I struggled so much with undercooking these, though.

7 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures, crafts

7 responses to “Made and Making: October 2014

  1. oh, love seeing the pictures, so sorry for your camera! that must be frustrating! what a lot of lovely things you have cooked / baked!!! we are so blessed to be able to have knitting and cooking projects! have a blessed weekend!

    • Maureen Eichner

      It is frustrating! Especially since I of course put picture-taking off until the last possible moment. Oh well.

      Yes, this has a been a nicely full month in terms of making things. It’s very life-giving for me.

  2. Your Autumn Blush looks lovely – thank you for sharing! And that butternut leek soup looks very yummy.

  3. Mimi

    Beautiful! Good job!

  4. Pingback: October 2014 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

