All the books I read in July

July was the worst reading month for me so far this year, with only 13 completed books. (Although I expect November, and maybe October will also be pretty slim.) It was a busy month on a number of levels, and I have to admit that several of the books I picked up didn’t do much for me. However, I am pretty pleased with the ones I did end up finishing.

My favorites this month were:

  • When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
  • Binti: Home by Nnedi Okorafor
  • Book Uncle and Me by Uma Krishnaswami
  • Jolly Foul Play by Robin Stevens
  • Raven Strategem by Yoon Ha Lee

At some point, I want to write a whole post about Tor.com’s novella line and how fascinating the different novellas are. I find that most of them I appreciate rather than loving, perhaps because for me the novella is a tough length. However, I absolutely loved Binti: Home, and thought Lightning in the Blood was a good follow up to Brennan’s first Varekai story.

My reading plans for August are a bit vague, but I’m hoping I’ll manage to either finish or set down some of the books that have been lingering on my to-read shelf. Right now, I’m just a bit into The Watchmaker of Filigree Street and cautiously liking it.

2 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list

2 responses to “All the books I read in July

  1. What did you think of River of Teeth? Also, I didn’t know about that title from Marie Brennen. Probably I should look that one up.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I liked and appreciated River of Teeth, but didn’t have the all-encompassing love for it that a lot of other readers did. YMMV, of course!

Leave a Reply

