Books I added to my To-Read list recently

 

Wimsey also enjoys books

I haven’t written this type of post with any regularity, but I thought it might be a fun glimpse into what I’m thinking about reading–though I’m not making any promises about when that will happen!

Making this list also led to the realization that a lot of my book recs come from the same people. With that in mind, I asked on Twitter for favorite inclusively feminist SFF critics & bloggers. I’d love to hear your favorites!

Rise of the Jumbies by Tracey Baptiste

The Guns Above by Robyn Bennis

The Space Between the Stars by Anne Corlett

All the Real Indians Died Off by Roxane Dunbar-Ortiz

Defy the Stars by Claudia Gray

That Thing We Call a Heart by Sheba Karim

White Tears by Hari Kunzru

Shattered Minds by Laura Lam

The Tiger’s Daughter by K. Arsenault Rivera

Hunted by Megan Spooner

Race and Popular Fantasy Literature by Helen Young

4 Comments

Filed under book lists, bookish posts

4 responses to “Books I added to my To-Read list recently

  1. DEFY THE STARS and HUNTED are both wonderful. I haven’t read any of the others but will be interested in seeing your reviews if/when you do!

  2. How very cool! Rise of the Jumbies is the only one of these I’ve heard of, though it is on my want-to-read list.

  3. We have a post like this coming up on our blog too. Sometimes I do hate to write about the books I plan to read – because it seems like the minute I do … I don’t want to read it anymore.

  4. alinaccl

    I found That Thing We Call a Heart frustrating; the main character kept making stupid decisions the entire time. Definitely not inaccurately stupid things (I cringe to think of some of the things I did as a teenager), but not a super enjoyable reading experience.

    On the other hand I’ve recently started reading Noteworthy by Riley Redgate and it’s hilarious and involves my favourite trope, girl going undercover in a secret society (or in this case a prestigious all-male a cappella octet). I super recommend it so far!

Leave a Reply

