Links: 3/16/2017

I hope that you all know how much I love I Capture the Castle (spoiler: A LOT), so I found this essay on Cassandra’s hesitant faith and its echoes in Marilynne Robinson to be really intriguing. While I wanted the essay to go a step further in terms of drawing out its arguments & conclusion, it did illuminate a facet of one of my favorite books that I hadn’t considered much before.  (R. has been telling me to read Gilead for ages and I really should do that.)

Ever wondered what happens when Queen Elizabeth II eventually dies? The Guardian found out–and wrote a long, thorough read that looks at the protocol and what it suggests about the nation and its future.

Dr. Carla Hayden, the Librarian of Congress, is TOO MUCH, as are these two adorable children. On a day when the future looks horrifying & uncertain, it’s good to remember what we’re fighting for.

An excellent thread on happy/hopeful endings & the merits of comfort books.

FIYAH Magazine has released the results of a Black SFF Writer Survey. They “encourage readers to view the FIYAH Black SFF Writer Survey Report as a contextualization tool […] attempting to add what is probably the most neglected–and most important–perspective to the conversation: that of black writers themselves.” Diversify publishing on every level, friends.

Tiptree Awarrrrrrddddd AND one of my favorite books from last year (When the Moon Was Ours) won!

2 Comments

Filed under links

2 responses to “Links: 3/16/2017

  1. Aw damn, if I’d known the Tiptree Award was happening right now, I’d have included it on the list of book awards I’m discussing on the next podcast. But still I love the longlist books that I’ve read so far, and I’m adding a couple more to my TBR list. Mmmmm book awards.

  2. Did you click through to the article on My Neighbor Totoro that initiated that thread on comfort books? Beautiful and insightful article.
    http://brightwalldarkroom.com/issue-45/2017/3/13/towards-a-true-childrens-cinema-on-my-neighbor-totoro

Leave a Reply

