Currently reading: 10-5

As Brave as You by Jason Reynolds: I’m trying to catch up with the Reynolds books I haven’t read yet which is hard because he has several being published a year at the moment. This one is middle grade and a family story. I’m definitely hooked and am curious to see how the relationships and secrets play out.

The Plantagenets by Dan Jones: I started this after finishing the Tiptree biography, thinking that there would be fewer emotions about English history. And then Eleanor of Aquitaine showed up on page 40, so now I’m just resigned to having my heart mangled all the time. Jones is a good historian and manages (at least so far) to give a sense of the people involved which is hard in such a broad overview.

The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi: This one was nominated for the Cybils, and I’ve heard great things about it, and I actually had it checked out already, so here we are! I’m on about page five, so I can’t say much about it yet.

Hour of the Bees by Lindsay Eagar: Still reading this one, more because I’ve prioritized other books than because it’s actually taking me long when I sit down with it. I’ll be interested to see how this one resolves; at the moment I’m a little concerned about a couple of things, but I’m willing to see if that changes.

Ghost Talkers by Mary Robinette Kowal: WWI, but with ghosts, which is an interesting concept. I have been really excited for this one, but so far I’m feeling that it fizzed out a bit. Liz Bourke mentioned in her review that this is more Rupert Brooke than Wilfred Owen, and I think that’s a fair point. Anyway, we’ll see.

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

5 responses to “Currently reading: 10-5

  1. I’ve been curious about The Star-Touched Queen ever since it was recommended by The Book Smugglers, and I tried a Kindle sample but wasn’t convinced. I just found out today that the author is half-Filipino so that made me curious about it again. Maybe I’ll wait to see what you think of it!

  2. Oh, The Plantagenets! I read it! I liked it so much! My favorite thing that I learned was that King John spent so much money the country RAN OUT OF MONEY. Irresponsible monarchs are irresponsible. It was a super fun book, and I can’t wait to read more by Dan Jones.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I am really liking it, but I’m also reading it so I can read his next one which is at least partly about RICHARD III so I’ll have EVEN MORE FEELINGS and CAN’T WAIT.

  3. Pingback: October 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

