Currently reading: 9-7

All the books I'm actively reading. Send help,

All the books I’m actively reading. Send help.

Save

I don’t know how this happened–no, I do. I’ve been reading several intense books in slow spurts because they are really good but also my heart can’t handle too much at once. And then I’m trying to read several other books that have taken me a bit to get into, so I keep pulling a new one off the shelf and trying it. Anyway, from the top:

Dove Exiled by Karen Bao: Sequel to last year’s Dove Arising. I am finding the writing a little choppy, but I’m really interested in what Bao’s doing with the world and characters.

The Wolves of Willoughby Chase by Joan Aiken: For October’s reading notes, so I won’t say much more. Except–this book is 168 pages long. One hundred sixty-eight! Take note, authors.

Perfect Liars by Kimberly Reid: This is a fun diverse teenage con/heist story–great for kids who have aged out of The Great Greene Heist.

The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine: I’m rereading this with librarian book club and auuugghhhh the emotions. They might actually be worse the second time through?

Mr. Fox by Helen Oyeyemi: It’s very difficult to say what’s happening in this book, but in a good way. (I tend to like texts that make you work for their meaning, as long as they’re not being jerks about it.)

James Tiptree Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon by Julie Phillips: This book is making me feel way too many things. It’s fine. (I just DM the best/worst bits to the friend who recommended it to me. Thanks & you’re welcome.)

Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie: A re-read because I wanted to and apparently wasn’t reading enough intense books? Yeah, I don’t know either.

Monstress by Marjorie Liu: My hold at the library FINALLY came in!! This is a lot more violent than I tend to like my comics, but the visual sensibility is so much my thing that I’m still reading. (Art deco-ish fantasy monsters=I’m there.)

We Love You, Charlie Freeman by Kaitlyn Greenidge: I JUST started this one, but I’ve gotten far enough in to be hooked. Definitely a story I’d only trust from an #ownvoices author, though!

Jupiter Pirates: The Rise of Earth by Jason Fry: Third in a middle grade SF series I’ve been enjoying! Fry has years of experience writing Star Wars tie-ins and he clearly has a good grasp of what kids like in their SF. I have a feeling that things are going to Happen in this one.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Currently reading: 9-7

  1. Can I just say that yesterday I started A Shilling for Candles, after reading your review, and I am enjoying it more than I’ve enjoyed anything in about the last two years. That kind of gaspingly awful *funniness* in 1930s mysteries! And she’s so good at painting character in swiftly and strikingingly. (I kind of wish I’d read it last year, to add to my surfeit of Sayers and Mitford and Christie in search of that 1930s voice and turn of phrase…)

  2. I read The Wolves of Willoughby Chase many times as a kid — never realized until I was an adult that she had written other books. She really did so much in those 168 pp! Awesome compactness.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I’ve read all of the Wolves Chronicles a couple of times and some of them a LOT, but almost none of Aiken’s other books! She does do a lot in 168 pages.

  3. Ooh, Girls at the Kingfisher Club! I’ve been wanting to read Monstress and Rise of Earth, too. And somehow I have two months’ worth of books checked out at home, and Ancillary Sword waiting patiently on my iPod for me to listen to it, so I’m not allowed to take any new books for myself home today.

  4. Hahahaha, it’s a coin toss whether I understand what’s going on with any Helen Oyeyemi book at any given point. Isn’t her writing lovely though? She’s one of my favorite authors WITH the caveat that the end of Boy Snow Bird is horribly transphobic and somebody should have stopped her.

  5. I have James Tiptree Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon on my TBR. I really need to get to it!

  6. Wolves of WC (ha!) is one of my all time favorite books. I’m so lucky I got to read it aloud to my kids too. So operatic in its bad baddies and good heroes.

  7. Pingback: September round up & October releases | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

