Three low-stress game apps

So, like many others out there, I own a smartphone and I like to play games on it. Recently I’ve realized that the games I really enjoy are ones that are pretty laid back. They don’t require you to visit every day; there’s no big pressure or competition. I have a couple of new favorites and I thought I’d go through them today. (I realize this is way outside my normal thing here, but I do what I want.) All of them are free with optional purchases

Viridi: This is my favorite by far! The concept is pretty simple: you start off with a pot of succulent sprouts and you water them as needed. They grow in real time. The graphics are really gorgeous, and it’s weirdly compelling to open it and watch your plants grow. There’s also some tinkly background music which is actually not annoying? I sometimes use it as white noise when I can’t sleep? The game gives you one free seedling per week, so you can keep adding more for free. You can also buy a second pot for $5. I don’t know if I’ll end up doing that (I usually don’t spend money on apps if I can possibly avoid it) but it’s something I enjoy enough that I’m not ruling it out. I don’t know if your succulents will actually die if you leave them unattended for too long, but being succulents you can forget about them for a bit and they’ll be fine.

Abyssrium: In this game you start off with one lonely coralite and slowly add coral and fish to make a virtual aquarium. Whereas Viridi relies on its real-world simulation (real types of plants growing in real time), Abyssrium has accurate coral and fish but you can tap the coralite and fish to add more vitality, which lets you upgrade and also buy more stuff. (The coral produces vitality automatically, even when the app’s closed.) It’s more interactive than Viridi, but certainly one that you can do in short bursts and then ignore for a long time. There is not absolutely terrible music, but generally I find the graphics and atmosphere just okay.

Kleptocats: I was super into Neko Atsume at one point, but since I basically got all the cats and stuff, I haven’t even opened it in months. Kleptocats is kind of filling that cat-related hole. You start off with one cat who goes out and comes back with stuff to decorate your room, and also coins. You can trade in the coins for gems and buy more cats and eventually open more rooms. I haven’t been playing this one for very long, but I’ve noticed that the cats take a variable amount of time for each trip. There’s no point in keeping the app open while you wait for them to come back, but it will notify you when they reappear. I find it a bit more stressful than the other two, but I’m not sure why. It’s just cats bringing you stuff (that you probably don’t want, thanks cats).

Anyway, those are three games I’ve been having fun with recently! What about you?

4 Comments

Filed under reviews

4 responses to “Three low-stress game apps

  1. Brigid

    Plant Nanny! You grow plants by drinking enough water in real life.

  2. ladygoat

    So glad for this post!! I love Zen Koi. Koi fish eat prey to get faster and more agile. Eventually turn into a dragon. Start over with new Koi.

    So soothing (like koi in real life ) and the colors are lovely and vivid.

  3. love the title and the idea behind this post! i thought i was the only one who found the game apps stressful!

    one app that I have found myself enjoying recently is klocki. it’s available for 99c IIRC, and is wonderful in that it’s puzzle-ish but w/o the normal race against time, and stress, and frantic-ness that I generally associate with puzzle games! I really like the background music too!

  4. Pingback: September round up & October releases | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

