Top Ten Tuesday: Books set in royal courts

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

For whatever reason, I realized that I love a lot of books set in royal courts. This is a bit weird, since I’m mostly very liberal in real life politics. But fictional courts often include some great opportunities for character interaction and conflict. So here are some favorites! If you have one I haven’t included, let me know.

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold

Masks and Shadows by Stephanie Burgis

The Foreigner series by C.J. Cherryh

Hild by Nicola Griffith

Seraphina by Rachel Hartman

The Medair duology by Andrea K. Höst

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

Ombria in Shadow by Patricia McKillip

The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner

A Coalition of Lions by Elizabeth Wein

* honorable mention *

The Lymond Chronicles by Dorothy Dunnett

Lavinia by Ursula K. LeGuin

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

The Element of Fire by Martha Wells

The Palace of Spies series by Sarah Zettel

Save

17 Comments

Filed under book lists, bookish posts

17 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books set in royal courts

  1. Great list! I have read a bunch of these and have a bunch of the others on my TBR!

  2. Ah I read A Darker Shade of Magic earlier this summer and loved it! Currently reading the sequel 🙂
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2016/08/16/top-ten-tuesday-70/

  3. Lois McMaster Bujold, Patricia McKillip and Megan Whalen Turner on one list together is definitely a list I can get behind 🙂

    My TTT.

  4. I have a similar love but I have phrased it more as liking books about machinations. SO MANY MACHINATIONS in those Megan Whalen Turner books, and that is my very favorite thing about them — the moment in King of Attolia when you realize what Gen’s been angling for all along is soooooo gooooooood. I’m like breathless with love for that moment. EUGENIDES.

    Just, machinations. I enjoy them. Of course now that I’ve said this, I can only think of books with machinations set in royal courts, but I promise you I have liked machinations in other settings as well. I have. I just can’t remember them right now.

    Aren’t there machinations in those Finnekin of the Rock books? I feel like yes. But those are kind of set in royal courts too.

    • Maureen Eichner

      MACHINATIONS YES YOU ARE SO RIGHT. And I was just thinking yesterday that I’d like more SFF set in democracies. Because that would be fascinating and I’d love the machinations. Yes.

  5. Such lovely choices! i also really love Sarah Zettel’s Arthurian books. And I am pondering what other books might work here…

    • Maureen Eichner

      I really need to work through all of Zettel’s backlist! And I think there are lots of books that work for this topic.

  6. Love the topic you chose! Yes to AK Host, MWT and EWein. 🙂 I would add Sherwood Smith’s Crown Duel and Kristin Cashore’s Graceling and Fire.

  7. Great picks! I can’t wait to try Masks and Shadows. 🙂

    Check out my TTT.

  8. Pingback: August 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

