Alternate takes on portal fantasies

rest of us just live hereI’m not 100% sure that I exactly mean portal fantasies. What I really mean is that these books look at the structure of classic fantasy and play with it. By classic fantasy, in this case, I mean things like Harry Potter and Narnia, which of course are both portal fantasies, so maybe that’s what I mean after all.

At any rate, recently there’s been a little spurt of these books and I thought it’d be interesting to highlight a few.

Lev Grossman’s The Magicians is possibly the best known. I have to admit that while I’ve appreciated his writing about fantasy, I really really really disliked this book. I don’t think I even finished it. For me it was simply too anti, too negatively set against things I might critique but also love.

Second is one that I read as it was coming out, with both great delight and great nail-biting: Sarah Rees Brennan’s Turn of the Story. I loved the characters, and SRB’s thoughtful interrogation of fantasy tropes worked really well for me. (There’s also a follow up short story in the Monstrous Affections anthology.)

Of course Rainbow Rowell’s Carry On was one of last year’s big releases. While Simon Snow might seem like a simple Harry Potter analogue, I did appreciate that Rowell both critiqued and honored her inspiration.

The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness, is an interesting example in that the main story is all about the kids who live just outside the usual portal fantasy. The chapter descriptions tell us the Chosen One story, but the rest of the book is concerned with, well—the rest of us.

Finally Seanan McGuire’s Every Heart a Doorway is a new book that I haven’t yet read but have heard good things about (and have on my library book bookshelf).

Are there other recentish books that fit this list? It’s an interesting mini-trend to me.

7 Comments

Filed under book lists, bookish posts

7 responses to “Alternate takes on portal fantasies

  1. Every Heart a Doorway looks really good. I am hoping to read it sometime this year!

  2. Yep, I love this mini-pattern. It’s always fun for me when fiction intelligently deconstructs its tropes and looks at them in a new way. I loved that Carry On came out the same day as The Rest of Us Just Live Here — it was a fun piece of synergy.

    • Maureen Eichner

      That release date coincidence is fun!

      “It’s always fun for me when fiction intelligently deconstructs its tropes and looks at them in a new way.” Yes–I love when a thing is both the trope and the inversion of the trope, which is maybe why I liked both Carry On and Turn of the Story so much.

  3. Pingback: May 2016 round up | By Singing Light

  4. There’s definately a great deal to find out about this subject.
    I love all the points you’ve made.

  5. É uma doença que é causada através do refluxo gastroesofágico (DRGE),
    popularmente conhecida como acidez, ela é uma sensação de queimação
    vinda da secção de trás do esterno, um embaraço que estaca situado na secção anterior do tórax. https://refluxogastroesofagico.ga/o-que-e-bom-para-refluxo/

Leave a Reply

