April 2016 round up

I’m sick, so reactions are a bit abbreviated.

Books read this month and reviewed
Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston
The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

Other books read this month
Terrible Typhoid Mary by Susan Campbell Bartoletti: YA non-fiction about Mary Mallon. Bartoletti is pretty good at not including guesswork as fact (pet peeve!) and she shows both why the authorities took certain actions with Mallon, and why that might be a problem. All in all, a good non-fiction for solid middle grade readers.

Peace, Locomotion by Jacqueline Woodson: I loved Brown Girl Dreaming and realized I hadn’t read many of Woodson’s other books. This is another great one, a bit heartbreaking at times but a really thoughtful depiction of the bond between siblings, and growing up.

How It Went Down by Kekla Magoon: Teen book about the aftermath of a (fictional) shooting. It’s built from the narration of different people involved, all with their own agendas, viewpoints, and memories. It’s a complex, compelling book which deserves more time than I can give it at the moment.

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot: I’m reading this one ages after everyone else. I’d like to find some reactions from an African-American perspective, although I did think Skloot did a reasonably good job at acknowledging her own status as an outsider.

Mars Evacuees by Sophia McDougall: Smart, exciting middle grade scifi. It’s got a sense of pacing, but doesn’t lose characterizations in the midst of that, which is nice. I’m looking forward to the next book.

Daughter of Time by Josephine Tey: I can’t believe I have never reviewed this book, but that seems to be the case. I’ll fix that–eventually.

An Everlasting Meal by Tamar Adler: Reread–I love this book about the art of cooking.

Dark North by Gillian Bradshaw: One of the last Bradshaws I hadn’t read. I like the idea of it quite a bit, but somehow the plot and/or characters never quite clicked.

Ms. Marvel: Last Days: I talked about this one some already, but basically, I loved it.

To Catch a Cheat by Varian Johnson: Follow up to The Great Greene Heist, which I loved last year. The sequel is just as fun, and I continue to appreciate how Johnson is writing both a middle school story and a heist story.

Charlotte Brontë: A Fiery Heart by Claire Harman: I appreciated Harman’s insights into Charlotte, and she does a great job of interpreting without going beyond the evidence. Mostly, I want to go back in time and punch both Patrick and Branwell. UGH. THE WORST.

Gates of Thread and Stone by Lori M. Lee: YA fantasy. I liked Kai a lot, and the worldbuilding was interesting if a bit vague at times. I didn’t find the romance particularly compelling and we were clearly meant to, but I am curious about the sequel.

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater: I have so many feels. I’m 95% happy with how everything turned out, though I have one minor-yet-significant quibble.

Other posts
Masks and Shadows by Stephanie Burgis
Links 4-6
Links 4-20
Ten books that make me laugh
Ten books for poetry fans
At least we’re not okay together
The particular pleasures of rereading
What I’m reading: 4-13

Me elsewhere
World of YA episode 4: Steampunk, Historical fantasy, and alternate histories
reflection: self care and self preservation
reflection: goals and rituals

TV and movies

Brooklyn 99 season 2: I really like this show! I want to be Rosa, but I’m pretty sure I’m Amy.

iZombie season 1: I started this one and have been liking it so far, especially after the first 2-3 episodes.

 

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, monthly book list, reviews

6 responses to “April 2016 round up

  1. Oh I am glad that you liked How It Went Down. I cannot understand how that book didn’t get more attention when it came out — I thought it hit right on the zeitgeist as well as being an incredibly lovely, thoughtful, nuanced book. Kekla Magoon is nowhere near as famous as I’d like her to be.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I’m not sure either (aside from the obvious/depressing answer of racism). I found it so complex and nuanced, as you said.

  2. Ooh, I really liked Mars Evacuees, but I thought the sequel was even better! (I soooooo wish there would be a third book!) I think you’ll really love Space Hostages!

  3. I read the J Tey book years ago; I remember being very impressed; is this the one that has to do with Shakespeare’s/his time period? it’s been years but I remember it being something I found to be astonishing in many ways.

    • Maureen Eichner

      A little earlier than that–late 15th century–but Shakespeare is mentioned because he wrote a play about Richard III a few generations later. It is quite an astonishing book!

      And Christ is Risen! Hope you’re doing well!

Leave a Reply

