Links: 4-20-2016

Bid on advanced copies of Stephanie Burgis’s next two books!

If you’re interested in YA, Kelly Jensen’s massive 230+ roundup of new books (just through June!!!) is well worth taking the time to look through.

Although this essay on “How not to talk about African fiction” is about adult fiction, it’s equally relevant to YA and kidlit in general.

 

You probably have already seen the Rogue One trailer, but just in case…or you know, if you want an excuse to watch it again.

This thread on the issues with casting in terms of Ghost in the Shell was really informative in giving the cultural background of the anime.

No one wants this, James Cameron.
This nine year-old-girl reporter is AMAZING. ” I don’t think people should be able to decide for me who I should be and what I should be doing. I never began my newspaper so that people would think I was cute. I started the Orange Street News to give people the information they need to know.”

Dear New York Times: this is gross and you should feel bad.

This  thread of studies showing what Black people have said all along is something to read and sit with awhile if you’re white.

They’re finally just going to leave Hamilton on the $10 and take Jackson off the $20, which is what everyone wanted in the first place (because Jackson was horrible). *eye roll*

Laura Turner’s post about “The insufficiency of self-care” is a really thoughtful look at the subject, and it sparked some good conversations with friends.

 

This cat takes the train in Tokyo by himself. Bonus: he looks a lot like my cat and is the cutest!

Simone Biles & Gabby Douglas being happy for each other is so great!!

2 Comments

Filed under links

2 responses to “Links: 4-20-2016

  1. Ooh, I dunno how I found Kat, Incorrigible but I did, and I have it on my shelf, now. Good to know there’s more Burgis books to explore!

  2. Pingback: April 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

