Top Ten Tuesday: Books that make me laugh

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

Writing this post was an interesting exercise in realizing that I’ve changed a lot over the almost ten years I’ve been reading and reviewing in this space. Looking back through my “Humor” BookLikes shelf, I found that I don’t read as many books that could be strictly called humor anymore, nor do I necessarily think I would love the books I used to enjoy in the same way. Nonetheless, I do enjoy a funny book, although some of these definitely make you laugh and then punch you in the feels.

me and earlstep asideprickwillow placetsnotd

Me & Earl & the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

Hark! A Vagrant & other books by Kate Beaton

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

Lynburn Legacy by Sarah Rees Brennan

All Creatures Great & Small (and sequels) by James Herriot

Ancillary Mercy by Ann Leckie

The Exiles series, and the Lulu series by Hilary McKay

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

To Say Nothing of the Dog by Connie Willis

Jeeves and Wooster by P.G. Wodehouse

12 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books that make me laugh

  1. love Wodehouse!!! So fun!! My TTT

  2. I love James Herriot! Ooh, maybe I should be on a lookout for a hard copy to keep as a comfort read choice!

  3. I have only read three of these! Though I am reading the last of the Exiles books right now on lunch break and am cracking my colleagues up by telling them what’s happening. I really must read Ann Leckie and Sarah Rees Brennan – I have read nothing by either of them.

  4. Many of these I really need to read!

  5. I had To Say Nothin got the Dog on my list too. I also love Wodehouse. And the Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place was funny and amazing in so many ways.

  6. I was all set to say that books rarely, rarely make me laugh out loud (I think it’s something to do with the solitary nature of the reading experience?), but then you mentioned Hilary McKay and I had to change my policy. Hilary McKay is an author who I regularly have to call people over and read passages from her books to them because they made me giggle so much.

    • Maureen Eichner

      RIGHT? I rarely actually laugh out loud either, but The Exiles Abroad made me laugh so much my stomach hurt.

  7. Pingback: April 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

