February 2016 round up

Books I’ve already talked about
Thor: Goddess of Thunder
The Wicked and the Divine: Fandemonium
The Mirador by Sarah Monette
Corambis by Sarah Monette
Troubled Waters and Royal Airs by Sharon Shinn
Captain Marvel: Higher, Further, Faster, More
A Companion to Wolves, The Tempering of Men, An Apprentice to Elves by Sarah Monette and Elizabeth Bear
The Cloud Roads by Martha Wells
Listen to the Moon by Rose Lerner
Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen by Lois McMaster Bujold
Carry On by Rainbow Rowell: I listened to the audiobook, which was a pretty fun experience. I liked the narrator’s voice and take on most of the characters a lot.
To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han
Gate of the Gods by Martha Wells

Other books
Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier: review coming in March!
Masks and Shadows by Stephanie Burgis: review coming in April!
Chase Me by Laura Florand: review coming later!

Night Watch by Sarah Waters: I think this was my favorite Waters book, at least of those I’ve read so far. I liked the way the stories of the different characters intertwined. The structure is elegant albeit slightly frustrating from my usually-not-literary-fiction point of view.

Act Like It by Lucy Parker: A really enjoyable contemporary romance! I wasn’t sure about the relationship at the beginning but by the end totally bought it. Fun stuff and I’ll be looking for more from Parker.

Kingfisher by Patricia McKillip: McKillip’s latest is super Fisher King/Arthurian, but kind of slantways. The setting is closer to Solstice Wood (my least favorite of her books BY FAR) than most of her others, but overall I did like this one. It begins a little slowly, and yet I was engaged enough to keep reading and I felt rewarded by the direction the book ultimately took. Her language is densely poetic and beautiful, as always.

Endangered by Lamar Giles: I was expecting this to be a fun book, and instead it was something quite different. Lauren, known to almost everyone as Panda, is a vigilante, catching high school bullies in compromising positions and anonymously exposing them. The story shows this unraveling, and how Panda herself unravels with it. Some of the secondary characters read a little inconsistent to me, but I really liked the resolution of the plot and of Lauren’s arc.

Moving Target by Christina Diaz Gonzalez: Middle grade adventure, in Italy (most specifically Rome). I think this one is best for a reader that’s big on plot, because it’s very fast-paced and exciting. I also appreciated that Cassie’s identity isn’t overlooked and that she’s the center of the story.

Jeweled Fire by Sharon Shinn: Third book in Shinn’s Elementals series. I think it’s the weakest, in part because I’m not sure Corene makes any sense in relationship to who she was shown to be earlier in the series. Also, one of the strengths was definitely the setting, and we move to an entirely different country here. Regardless, I think I’ll just remember to reread the first book alone.

This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp: Intense–I accidentally read past my lunch break because I had to finish–and heartbreaking. Nijkamp weaves together so many different stories in a way that really works well. I appreciated the lack of platitudes and easy answers.

Secret of the Dragon Tomb by Patrick Samphire: Life on Regency Mars! It makes no sense but is so fun! This is definitely a case of both really enjoying a book and noticing the way it falls into certain patterns (boy saving his sisters, for example). Nonetheless–Regency Mars! spies! dragons!

A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab: Ughhhh, whyyyyyy. Whyyyyyyy. V.E. Schwab, whhhyyyyyy. (If you liked the first book, I think you’re going to like this one–it’s thick, but also fast-paced and the space doesn’t feel wasted. Lila is amazing, Rhy is both the cutest and most annoying, etc.)

All In by Jennifer Lynn Barnes: The third book in the Naturals series. I continue to read these somewhat compulsively, despite not entirely loving them. They’re fast paced and exciting, but I’ve never entirely engaged with the characters.

Other posts
Historical & futuristic settings I’d like to see
Books for Galentine’s Day
Links 2-9
Links 2-23
Book Blogger Appreciation Week: Introduction; Interview with Deepika; Community; Recommendations from bloggers; Dealing with burnout

TV & movies
This was a quiet month for TV & movies, although I did rewatch A New Hope! It actually was really enjoyable still–I hadn’t seen it in several years (like…maybe 6?).

6 Comments

Filed under bookish posts, reviews

6 responses to “February 2016 round up

  1. Night Watch was my first Sarah Waters so it always holds a special place for me. 🙂

    • Maureen Eichner

      That would be a good start! My first book was Tipping the Velvet, which was a little gritty for my personal taste.

  2. Deepika Ramesh

    Listen to the Moon sounds lovely.:)

  3. I like-not-loved the first VE Schwab book, but I’ll probably read the second one just to keep abreast of how excited the internet is about them. 😉 And I am pleased that you liked the Lamar Giles book — just checked that one out of the library myself, and I’m looking forward to trying it!

    • Maureen Eichner

      I really, really like the VE Schwab books, and at the same time they’re not ones that so far actually touch my heart per se. Even though I care about the characters and what happens to them!

Leave a Reply

