Made and Making: February 2016

IMG_20160213_200836 IMG_20160204_221143 IMAG0258 IMAG0289

 

Cooking

Baked brie is PRETTY AMAZING and quite simple! I adapted this to use almonds and rosemary instead of hazelnuts and thyme. I will definitely be making it again.

Egg Stuffed Baked Potatoes: I was hoping this would be a really great portable lunch. It was okay, but I think either needed bigger potatoes or more substantial fillings.

Arborio Rice Pudding with Cinnamon Caramel: Based on this recipe, although I used a different caramel sauce since the original had disappeared. Great creamy rice pudding, and the cinnamon caramel was a perfect complement.

Honey Baked Apples with Cardamom Custard Sauce (Crabtree & Evelyn): *heart eyes emoji* I’ve had baked apples before and not been wild about them, but baking them with the right filling + basted with their own juices, AND THEN making a cardamom custard sauce = YES PLEASE.

Chicken Pot Pie with Leeks and Wild Mushrooms (Crabtree & Evelyn): I used baby portobello mushrooms, not wild ones, but this was still really, really, really good. The flavors were subtle but delicious and the crust was crisp and buttery. This is a rich potpie, but if you’re planning on eating it over the course of a couple of days, just perfect.

Knitting

Lionberry: I’m almost done with this one, which I’m knitting in Knit Picks Stroll Fingering. The color (Duchess Heather) is absolutely gorgeous and the yarn is lovely. I’m finding the pattern frustrating, but I’m not sure if that’s due to me preferring charted lace patterns, or if it’s confusingly formatted. I’m guessing possibly a little of both.

 

1 Comment

Filed under cooking adventures, crafts

One response to “Made and Making: February 2016

  1. The cat checking out your books is cute. 🙂

Leave a Reply

