BBAW: Dealing with burnout

bbaw

The topic for the last day of Book Blogger Appreciation Week is: One of the unfortunate side effects of reading and blogging like rockstars seems to be a tendency toward burnout. How do you keep things fresh on your blog and in your reading?

Reading-wise: So, I’m pretty much never without options of books to read (I, um, have a TBR spreadsheet) and I keep a bunch of books checked out at any given time. I try to strike a balance between reading things that have been on my list for awhile and reading things I want to read, or that are new and shiny. If I’m feeling burnt out on reading, I’ll try a different genre, or age group to see if that helps. Sometimes the thing that works best is rereading an old favorite (to remind myself that I do like books). Since I usually do round 1 of the Cybils, I frequently get burnt out on that particular category for awhile after it’s over and have to either take a break from reading, or read something totally different.

Blogging-wise: I feel like I suffer less from blogging burnout than reading burnout. Or maybe it’s just that they’re interconnected–if I’m not reading much, I’m probably not blogging much. At any rate, my strategies are pretty similar. I pull back on heavy posting for awhile and just let the space be quiet. Sometimes writing some fun posts about other things (knitting, cooking, etc) gives me a jolt of creativity. Sometimes there’s something actually wrong that I need to assess and figure out what I want to change. Overall, burnt out periods are definitely a season in every blogger’s life and I’ve learned to not sweat it too much. Eventually there will be something I just can’t wait to write about.

 

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “BBAW: Dealing with burnout

  1. I’m still amazed at how you’re able to do keep up with Cybils round 1. I don’t know if I can ever put my hand up for round 2. Anyway, good tips on how to keep reading and blogging fresh! I’ve also learned not to worry too much about slumps or burnout.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Well, I’m single, work 37 hours a week, and read fast. 🙂 If any of that ever changes, I’m probably in trouble! But I did love round 2 when I did it as well–it’s much more focused on in depth discussion of a few books.

  2. >>I try to strike a balance between reading things that have been on my list for awhile and reading things I want to read, or that are new and shiny.

    Me too, me too! I try to do this every time I go to the library. Some of the older books on my TBR list no longer look quite so exciting, but I try to trust Past Jenny’s opinion that they might be worth checking out.

  3. Pulling back and letting it all be being quiet is exactly how I think of it too, Maureen. And lovely thought, this: Eventually there will be something I just can’t wait to write about

  4. TBR Spreadsheet sounds fantastic. Thank you, Maureen. 🙂

  5. Literary Feline

    That’s such good advice about trying to avoid a reading slump–mixing it up. I agree! Sometimes I think my slumps are caused by having too many choices and not being able to decide. That’s when having my husband or daughter pick a book for me comes in handy.

    And yes, taking breaks or stepping back with your blog . . . Also very good advice.

    It’s been such a fun week. I’m sad to see it come to an end. I hope you have a great weekend.

  6. Pingback: February 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

