BBAW: Community

bbaw

Here’s the prompt for day 4: How do you stay connected to the community? Examples: social media, regular commenting, participation in blog events, etc. Tell us your faves!

Okay. So. I’m going to go a bit deep here.

I consider myself very fortunate on the one hand, because after I read the Queen’s Thief books for the first time a friend alerted me to the Sounis LiveJournal community which was at the time the center of the QT fandom. And it quickly became apparent that these were my people. I’ve formed long-lasting friendships with so many of the people from that group, across years and digital platforms and continents. My very best blogging friends–Brandy, Chachic, Shae, Charlotte, the ones that aren’t really just blogging friends anymore–are all from that group.

And I’ve found, slowly, a group of librarians/bloggers/readers who I interact with regularly and who I feel at least nominally a part of. This is a complex, wide-ranging community that I’m less secure in claiming as part of my identity, but that I certainly interact with regularly, at least on social media. I rely on it for commentary, for book recommendations, for a sense of the issues and controversies in the book world.

On the other hand, in terms of the blogging community overall? I usually feel very much like an outsider. My blog doesn’t get much traffic; I’ve been present in but not-quite-fully-a-part-of several different blogging/book/literary circles. I’m both older (10 years in May) and less popular than a lot of book blogs out there.  There’s definitely more than a bit of impostor syndrome in this feeling. At the same time, I’ve (mostly) made my peace with it: I’m happy with what I write about and how I write; I know who my people are and I’m always happy to find more.

This is all kind of a roundabout way to say that I’m not entirely sure how to answer that question in the abstract. If it’s the community/communities I feel most a part of, then it’s very much on a personal, individual level because I’m talking to and with friends. (Mostly on Twitter, which I have a love/hate relationship with.) Aside from that, I do like participating in events at least on a semi-regular level, both because it gives me a chance to break out of my usual circles and because having someone else think up topics is great. I’m terrible about regular commenting these days, which I’m not alone in. In general, I think I tend to find new people because of personal connections–they know someone I know.

 

 

 

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “BBAW: Community

  1. I can completely understand this. While I’ve just started blogging not too long ago, I feel like a complete interloper, I don’t think I can even claim to be part of the book blogging community in the ways others are. It’s good that you’ve found a group of friends 😀 I hope I will manage to do so as I continue blogging! Keep up the good work!!! Happy Book Blogger Appreciation Week 😀

    • Maureen Eichner

      I totally get feeling like an interloper, but I hope you find some great groups of friends! I think finding people who love the same books can be a great entrance into the community.

  2. Like you I struggle with commenting lately–and am one of those older bloggers who isn’t quite as fresh as the newer bloggers (goodness they have so much energy!). I think it’s awesome that you’ve been able to maintain your close circle of blogging friends! 🙂

  3. Ah! Imposter Syndrome sufferers unite! I totally understand that mentality. Keep at it. Happy BBAW

  4. I feel much the same way. My blog is seven years old, and when I started the community seemed to be much more tightly knit. I found a handful of great people to follow and we formed a community, but when I stopped blogging less frequently, things changed. I quit and then make a comeback about every six months because I do enjoy being part of the community, and I’ve been lucky that a few people will still visit even if I’ve been away for months. But mostly now I feel like I’m on the outside looking in, knocking on the window now and again to let people know I’m still here…

    • Maureen Eichner

      “when I started the community seemed to be much more tightly knit”

      Absolutely! And unfortunately, I didn’t really start focusing the blog on books until right around when the whole book blog area exploded! But I am grateful that I still have those close friends from the early days.

  5. I basically just want to hug this post. You are one of my best blogging buddies, Maureen! I’m glad that we met through the QT fandom (that LJ community also means a lot to me even if I’ve left LJ years ago) and have been able to maintain our friendship throughout the years. Sometimes, it amazes me how I have these connections with people that I’ve never met in real life.

  6. Queen’s Thieeeeeeeeeef! You know, this is reminding me that one way I used to stay connected, but don’t really anymore, was by searching for other bloggers who liked the same book I liked, or in particular who had reviewed the same book I liked. And I would link to them, and very often we’d end up chatting about the book and our mutual tastes, and then we’d sometimes become blogging pals. It’s so time-consuming to do that though!

    QUEEN’S THIEF THOUGH.

    • Maureen Eichner

      QUEEN’S THIEF! Basically all of my favorite book people seem to love that series, even if I didn’t know them through Sounis. BECAUSE IT’S THE BEST.

      I recognize that way of connecting, but yeah, it’s definitely time-consuming. Sometimes it does happen more spontaneously, which is always nice!

  7. IMPOSTOR SYNDROME. I feel you. I sooooooooooo feel you.

  8. Kay

    I think what you said makes sense and I think we all have to figure out our little spot in this blogging world. Some are much more ‘known’ (if that’s the right word) and some not. I’m happy with my spot and enjoy interacting with the bunch that I do visit with. We each make our own impact on someone else. 🙂

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yeah, that’s where I’ve started to come to, although I must admit I still have my “But, WHY?” moments. Thank you for the encouragement!

  9. alinaccl

    You’re my favourite book blog, and I only discovered you in the last year or so! We seem to have the same taste in books 99% of the time so I’ve discovered so many fantastic authors from you and your thoughtful, well-written reviews.

    I do miss the more connected feeling of LJ or the internet in general 10 years ago, though.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Awww, what a lovely thing to hear! Thank you!

      I do miss the more connected feeling of LJ or the internet in general 10 years ago, though.

      Yeah, although I am very close to the people who still have LJ accounts these days. 🙂

  10. Pingback: February 2016 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

