A quick note

Yesterday a number of people in my Twitter timeline* posted links to a new thing called Ko-fi. The idea is that people like writers, bloggers, and others who create content without getting paid for it can basically put out a virtual tip jar for people to put a few dollars in. After some thought and a minor freak-out, I decided to make one. I’ve added a button to the sidebar here. If you like what I do here & decide to chip in a bit, please feel free!

If you don’t want to or can’t contribute, please believe that I completely understand and there’s no pressure at all. Part of what I like about this system is that there’s no commitment or extra steps.

I’ve never gotten any compensation at all from blogging, and I’m a tiny blogger. I had more than a bit of impostor syndrome rearing its head when I thought about this. Plus, there’s a great combination of social pressure on women to not ask for compensation + personal anxieties and triggers that made this feel important. So admitting that I think my work is worth something is a a big step for me just internally. For that reason alone, I’m glad I decided to go ahead.

Also, when you’re a tiny blogger, it’s nice to hear that people see and value your work. 🙂

At any rate, that’s what the little button on the sidebar is!

 

* Yes, I know about the algorithm change, yes I am very annoyed.

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “A quick note

  1. Have done, and got one of my own! Thank you for the alert!

  2. First time I’ve heard of this and it sounds really interesting. I’d have to think about whether I want to do this too.

  3. Good luck, and thank you for the heads up on this! It’s a very appealing model.

Leave a Reply

