Made and Making: January 2016

I have to admit that it’s a bit weird writing this post just after what I wrote yesterday. But here we are, nonetheless.

Cooking

IMAG0245

Beef shortribs with vegetables: I sort of made this up–browned the shortribs, then added them with vegetables and cider to the slow cooker and cooked it on low overnight. Good with rice or mashed potatoes

Baked Potato Soup: This was good but not quite as good as I was expecting. Still, when you add a bunch of sour cream and green onions, pretty much everything tastes nice.

Mushrooms on Toast: SO GOOD. The mushrooms were delicious on crusty toast, but would be equally good on pasta or potatoes.

Cabbage and Mushroom Galette: I love slightly homely dishes like this, where the taste is so much more than the sum of its parts. This was really lovely and I definitely want to make it again.

Fried Rice: I based it on this recipe, although I added a number of other vegetables and some leftover pork, sliced.

Tartiflette with Cod from Home Made Winter: I made this with a salmon and blue cheese variation. Really good! And something I wouldn’t have thought of making on my own.

Roasted Cauliflower with Cumin and Coriander: I used a store-bought garam masala because I am not talented enough to make my own. This is such a good recipe!

Leek Toasts with Blue Cheese: This such a simple recipe–toast, crumbled blue cheese, sauteed leeks–but it’s really tasty, especially if you’re a fan of leeks (which I am).

Knitting

IMAG0121

Damask: I finished knitting this shawl for myself just before Nativity, which was really nice! It turned out really well, although I left out the bobbles towards the end because 1) I was concerned about how much yarn I had left 2) I’m not very fond of the way bobbles look and 3) I dislike knitting them quite a bit.

Chevalier: I’m knitting this for a friend and am always done. Did I mention that I’m going to be knitting shawls for friends all year? This is the first, and I’ll talk about it a bit more when it’s to its eventual owner.

 

3 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures, crafts

3 responses to “Made and Making: January 2016

  1. Pingback: January 2016 round up | By Singing Light

  2. I loved seeing these two pictures, that plate is so beautiful!!! and the knit, the green colour, the pattern, the gold pin holding it together, so lovely! You are always doing creative things! Well done!

    • Maureen Eichner

      Thank you, Elizabeth! Are you on Instagram? I just joined & will probably post more pictures of things I make there.

Leave a Reply

