2015 Favorites: Blog posts and series

Today, I’m taking a look back at some of my favorite posts and series from the last year’s worth of blogging.

Reading Notes

One of the projects I’m happiest with this year is the Reading Notes series I’ve done. It gives me a chance to look more deeply at books that I love, and to spend time working out some of the layers & complexities of their stories. Plus, I get to re-read some of my favorite authors! I’m definitely planning to continue this series in the new year.

Diana Wynne Jones: The Dark Lord of Derkholm, Hexwood, Howl’s Moving Castle, Archer’s Goon 

Dorothy Sayers: Strong Poison, Gaudy Night, Busman’s Honeymoon

Patricia McKillip: Alphabet of Thorn, Riddle Master of Hed, Heir of Sea and Fire, Harpist in the Wind

Reviews

An Inheritance of Ashes: I felt that this was a tricky review to write, but I think I did manage to convey why I loved this book so much, and hopefully convinced some other people to pick it up.

Ancillary Mercy: Leckie is a very interesting author to review, because she’s doing so much in one story–there are questions of identity, colonialism, what it means to be part of a system, etc, etc. Trying to do justice to all of this can be a bit daunting, but I’m happy with how this review turned out.

Sorcerer to the Crown: Usually my review writing voice and my gushy Twitter voice are pretty distinct, but in this case I found Sorcerer to the Crown to be just so fun that I semi-consciously wrote it in a much more telling-a-friend-about-it style.

Ravensbrück: Again, this is a review that was hard to write, because I wanted to do justice to the stories of the women who were featured in the book, and that’s very difficult to do in such a short space. But I’m very satisfied with the result.

Black Dove, White Raven: Writing about Black Dove, White Raven was a really interesting exercise in how to balance my personal reaction (ie, that I loved this book) with the awareness of wider issues in publishing and society.

Other blog posts

Bullet Journalish planning and Bullet Journaling, revisited: These were two of the most popular posts on my blog this year, and since I love talking about organization, I find this pretty fun. I’m planning a follow up post, probably in early January.

Favorite heroines: This was just such a fun post to write–I love talking about my favorite female characters and what I find engaging, or challenging, or valuable in them.

2015 Hugos: A personal reaction: I feel like I really managed to sum up how I felt about the results of this year’s Hugo Awards, which–considering the context–is harder than it sounds.

 

3 Comments

Filed under reviews

3 responses to “2015 Favorites: Blog posts and series

  1. Jenine

    Just finished An Inheritance of Ashes, wanted to let you know your review *was* effective. The book was not what I expected and that was a good thing.

  2. Pingback: December 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

