Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite new to me authors in 2015

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

Renée Watson: I was so impressed by Watson’s This Side of Home, which I believe is her first YA novel. It’s a thoughtful, beautiful look at family & friends, and growing up, as well as issues of racism & gentrification.

Stacey Lee: Lee’s debut, Under a Painted Sky, will definitely be making an appearance on my list of favorite books at the end of the year. I’m looking forward to whatever she writes next.

Sarah Waters: I have now read 1.5 books by Waters and I’m very intrigued; her writing style and characters aren’t necessarily ones I would naturally gravitate towards (she’s a little grittier than I tend to like) but I’m always fascinated anyway.

Zen Cho: Cho’s first full-length novel, The Sorcerer to the Crown, is a book that I loved instantly and intend to re-read many times in the future. I loved her brand of smart, thoughtful historical fantasy.

Catriona McPherson: I’ve now read most of McPherson’s Dandy Gilver mysteries–they’re cozy historicals set in 1920s-30s Scotland and I find them very comforting and fairly entertaining.

Naomi Shihab Nye: I read Nye’s The Turtle of Oman earlier this year and loved it. It’s a quiet, thoughtful book with a great sense of what it’s like to be a kid. I know she has more books published & I’m really looking forward to reading them.

Rosemary Kirstein: I’ve read the first two books in Kirstein’s Steerswoman series now and found both really fresh and interesting. It’s an ongoing series and I’m looking forward to reading the rest.

Heather Rose Jones: So far I’ve read Daughter of Mystery and enjoyed it a lot–it’s a swashbuckling historical fantasy with an interesting world and a nice f/f romance. I’m excited for the other books in this series!

Fiona Wood: Wood is an Australian import and I read her books (Six Impossible Things and Wildlife) in reverse order. DON’T DO THAT but DO read them–they’re great YA contemporaries.

Sarah McCarry: I finallllly read all three of McCarry’s books this year and I was so blown away by her lush, gorgeous prose and by her characters. These are books that I’m still thinking about regularly well after reading them.

 

12 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite new to me authors in 2015

  1. Out of your list, I’ve only read Fiona Wood. I need to try the others! Are you planning to read more Aussie YA novels next year? I have several of them in my TBR pile that I need to catch up on.

  2. Renee Watson is on my list too. I really loved This Side of Home.

    I still need to read The Sorcerer and the Crown but really want to.

    I read the Fiona Wood books in reverse order too (but I read Wildlife last year so didn’t include her on my list). It was really stressful reading Six Impossible Things because I kept waiting for tragedy. I was more than half way through when I realized that happened between the books.

    • Maureen Eichner

      I think you’ll really like Sorcerer & the Crown–it reminds me just a bit of Sorcery & Cecelia.

      And yes, I know what you mean about the Fiona Wood books. WHY were they pubbed over here in reverse order?????

  3. I didn’t know Naomi Shibab Nye had fiction out too! I love her poetry–“Daily” is one of my favorite poems by her. Thanks for bringing this my way!

    • Maureen Eichner

      I’m not sure how much fiction she has out, but I loved The Turtle of Oman & really want to look up all her poetry too. (I’ve read some pieces, but not systematically.)

  4. Catriona McPherson’s books sound right up my alley – will have to check her out! My TTT

  5. Pingback: December 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

