Made and Making: November 2015

I know I’m posting this on a day when the last thing my fellow Americans want to do is think about food. But here we are! This is an all food edition–my favorite recipes from the past month.

Spicy Squash Salad with Lentils and Goat Cheese

Cranberry Orange Breakfast Buns

Twice-baked Potatoes with Kale

Balsamic Braised Brussels Sprouts (I omitted the pancetta)

Cranberry Pie with Pecan Crumble (probably one of the best pies I’ve ever made!)

Wild Rice & Kale Gratin from The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

Warm Kale Salad (I used hazelnuts instead of pine nuts and left out the sugar)

Russian Potato and Mushroom Soup

Russian Braised Cabbage

One-Skillet Cheesy Beef and Macaroni (This turned out weirdly spicy for my taste, so I would leave out the pepper entirely next time)

Mujadara with an Egg (Probably the best mujadara I’ve ever had–a great recipe)

Italian Sausage and Tortellini Soup

Brussels Sprouts with Cranberries (I substituted hazelnuts for the pecans, and goat cheese for the Gorgonzola, since that’s what I had on hand)

Pulled Pork from Home Made Winter

Vegetable Stroganoff from Moosewood Cookbook

Apple-Cheddar Pie

Beef, Leek, and Barley Soup, heavily adapted from this recipe

 

2 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures

2 responses to “Made and Making: November 2015

  1. I’m still intrigued! I was lucky enough to be part of a family Thanksgiving where everyone cooks… so I made just my buttery pull-apart rolls from the Weekend Baker ( http://www.abbydodge.com/books/the-weekend-baker/ ) but half whole wheat and a chai-infused pumpkin pie via Arbor Teas ( http://www.arborteas.com/pages/Masala-Chai-Pumpkin-Pie.html ), but with the chai recipe from Zingerman’s Great Eats cookbook as I didn’t have their chai on hand… Now we have lots of turkey and carb leftovers, and I’m eyeing your kale and brussels sprouts recipes to accompany them!

  2. Pingback: November 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

