Comfort reads

November is generally not a great month for me personally, so this year I decided to prepare. I started a list of comfort books to consider reading this month, and also got some great suggestions from Twitter friends. I know a lot of people struggle with this time of year, so I thought I would share my own list. One caveat: this is really a list for me–ie, I have The Queen of Attolia on there, which some people would not consider a comfort book as such. Also, I haven’t really bothered formatting the list or alphabetizing it, so mg, YA, and adult are all jumbled up.

If you have suggestions, or want to mention your own comfort books, leave a comment & I’ll add them! I’ll (hopefully) be talking about these as I read them using the #Novemreads hashtag on Twitter.

Promised Land

Among Others

Queen of Attolia

Sylvester–READING

False Colors

Uprooted

Perilous Gard

Tam Lin by Pamela Dean

The Winter Prince

Betsy and Joe

Fangirl

Murder of Bindy McKenzie

Ombria in Shadow

Laura Florand–Wish Upon Jasmine–READ

Julie James

The Goblin Emperor

Emma Barry–Private Politics–READ

Captain Vorpatril’s Alliance

Martha Wells

Jennifer Echols

I Capture the Castle

To Say Nothing of the Dog

Andrea K Höst

Deep Secret

Margery Allingham

Penderwicks

Mary Russell

Garden Spells

Marilynne Robinson–Gilead

Gillian Bradshaw

All-of-a-Kind-Family

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Comfort reads

  1. I hear you; more lights needed for one thing! I would seriously consider Elizabeth Goudge’s books, esp. The Scent of Water and The Dean’s Watch. HUGS.

  2. Georgette Heyer is also on my personal comfort reads list, along with D.E. Stevenson (hers are my top comfort re-reads), Jane Austen, Maeve Binchy, Zilpha Keatley Snyder (the ones from my childhood, like The Velvet Room) and Elizabeth Enright. The only modern title that I would really put into this category for me personally is Let It Snow by John Green, Lauren Myracle, and Maureen Johnson, which I read every year before Christmas.

    Hope that this November is a better month for you than usual 🙂

  3. For me it might well be Bujold’s Sharing Knife books. Or the Elemental Blessings books by Sharon Shinn. Or, yes, a lot of the ones on your list, including TQofA.

    Hope this year is better!

  4. alinaccl

    Most are already on my comfort read rotation, but some I haven’t read and don’t know the authors for. Could you enlighten me as to the writers of:

    Promised Land
    False Colors
    Betsy and Joe
    Garden Spells

    Just to make sure I’m ordering the correct copies from the library. 🙂

    • Maureen Eichner

      Oh, sure!

      Promised Land is by Connie Willis & Cynthia deFelice

      False Colours is Georgette Heyer

      Betsy & Joe is from Maud Hart Lovelace’s Betsy-Tacy series

      Garden Spells is Sarah Addison Allen

  5. Pingback: November 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

