Top Ten Tuesday: Book wishes I want granted

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

Some of my wishes are possible. Others, not so much.

1. FIFTH QUEEN’S THIEF BOOK.

2. More books from Elizabeth Marie Pope, because the two we have are so perfect.

3. A different ending for the Dark is Rising series.

4. Related to the first one, to meet Megan Whalen Turner. (Except I would probably just stand there and not be able to say a word.)

5. To meet blogging friends, especially anyone I know from Sounis.

6. For all the books I dearly love to get acclaim, great sales, and awards.

7. TARDIS-like bookshelves that can hold far more books than they first appear to.

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Book wishes I want granted

  1. A different ending for the Dark is Rising series.
    Oooh. Specifically the Drew children being made to forget the events of the series? Or other elements, too?

    (I’m suddenly reminded of Scarlett having her memories taken away at the end of the Graveyard Book, too.)

    • Maureen Eichner

      Most especially the memories, but the whole loss of magic/the Old Ones theme really bothered me here in a way it didn’t, for instance, in Tolkien. But any use of “it was all a dream” or “and now we forget what happened” really annoys me. It’s one of the things I think Lewis did right–to have the Pevensies remember Narnia even when they weren’t there.

      • Kathy_S

        Yes! The last volume ruined the series for me, with expunging the experiences of Jane et al. a particularly repugnant element. And I’d been so enthusiastic after ‘The Grey King’….

        I could also really use #7. It’s bad when double shelving is no longer enough.

        • Maureen Eichner

          Yes, The Grey King was SO important to me in middle school, and then Silver on the Tree was SO disappointing. sighhhhh

  2. Love these! Especially 1 and 2. I think we have a hope of 1 coming true at least.

  3. Ooh, I want 3, 6 and 7.

  4. Pingback: October 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

