Library Displays: Big-over-the-top display

Last month, I was asked to create a display for the big display case near the main entrance to the library. Naturally, I jumped at the chance!

100_4223

I decided to make a big, huge, over the top display, with all the things I want to do regularly and can’t because of the limits of the display area I’m normally working with. Additionally, I wanted it to have a fairy tale kind of feeling. This is the finished product.
100_4224
Close up of the right side.

100_4225
I really like the whale

100_4226
Middle panel

100_4227
Left side

I used quite a bit of poster board for this project–the castle, the sea animals, boat, and the hot air balloons are all made out of poster board. Some of it was drawn with Sharpie, other pieces are cut paper.

100_4218
Here are the two balloons. I suspended them with string and fixed it so they wouldn’t swing around and show the (unadorned) back.

100_4220
Castle. I drew and decorated the individual pieces and then layered them to create a slightly 3-D effect. The base is two Baker & Taylor boxes taped together and covered in green butcher paper.

100_4221
The first layer is put together!

100_4222
And now it’s mostly done.

I love how this project turned out, and it was really fun to be making something so creative and bold. It was a ton of work, but I’m very pleased with the results.

4 Comments

Filed under Library

4 responses to “Library Displays: Big-over-the-top display

  1. Oh my goodness the whale is so friendly.

  2. That is a really fabulous display!

  3. Pingback: August 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

