JULY I MEANT JULY ALL ALONG 2015 round up

Books I’ve already talked about
Alphabet of Thorn by Patricia McKillip
Riddle-Master of Hed by Patricia McKillip
Heir of Sea and Fire by Patricia McKillip
Harpist in the Wind by Patricia McKillip
The Bards of Bone Plain
Dandy Gilver by Catriona McPherson
The Fog Diver by Joel Ross
Everything Leads to You by Nina LaCour

Noah’s Ark by Marie-Madeleine Fourcade
The Bletchley Girls by Tessa Dunlop

Nothing Can Possibly Go Wrong by Prudence Shen and Faith Erin Hicks
Chocolate Temptation by Laura Florand
Busman’s Honeymoon by Dorothy Sayers (Charlotte said to re-read this one and she was quite right. It’s harrowing to the feelings in all the best ways.)

Other books
Dead Wake by Erik Larson: An account of the sinking of the Lusitania. Larson tells the narrative very well, and clearly had a lot of research behind his writing. I have to say, though, that at least for me, I didn’t find the story as heartbreaking as I should have and I think was meant to.

Peacemaker by CJ Cherryh: 15th book in the Bren Cameron saga. This one wraps up the Cajieri’s birthday party plot, with lots of machinations. I found it completely compelling and at the same time slightly frustrating–ie I wanted a little more resolution SOMEWHERE. Nonetheless, the Assassin’s Guild storyline was completely heart stopping. A great example of Cherryh’s ability to write political machinations.

The Book of Atrix Wolfe by Patricia McKillip: review here.

Joan of Arc by Helen Castor: I checked this one out after hearing an interview with Castor on NPR. Her approach is to contextualize Joan’s life and beliefs, and the reactions of others to her, by setting it all in the historical and political background. I really appreciated this. And yet, I also found that in doing so, Joan became an almost secondary figure. Perhaps this is the point, but in that case it’s really a study of 15th c France, rather than Joan herself.

Wish Upon Jasmine by Laura Florand: review coming soon

Other posts
[guest post] 10 favorite heroines
Reflections on 2015 as a reading year to date
On Women’s Writing
Links: 7-8
Links: 7-22
Made & Making
10 bookish characters
10 favorite diverse books

TV and movies
Mr. Holmes: I went to see this with a friend because Ian McKellan! Sherlock Holmes! We were almost the only people under 40 in the theater, which I mention because I think this story is really much less about Holmes as Holmes and much more about issues of aging and facing your own mortality and slippery loss of memory. McKellan gives a great performance, but I couldn’t help thinking that it was a story I had seen so many times before. (Also was not super comfortable with the Japanese part.)

I tried several TV shows without really falling in love with any of them: Sense8, Midsomer Murders, The Americans. I did finish Death Comes to Pemberley which I liked mostly for the leads (Anna Maxwell Martin & Matthew Rhys can be in everything yessss). I think I would have liked it better had it not been supposedly Darcy & Elizabeth, though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

