#48hbc: Finishing line post

Hurrah! A successful 48 hour book challenge completed!

Today was definitely my weakest reading day–I needed to sleep this morning and had friends for dinner this evening, so I only managed four more hours. I did read Judith Merkle Riley’s The Water Devil, one of her Margaret of Ashford books. I find that series entirely delightful.

Stats!

Reading time: 23 hours
Total books read: 11
Blogging/social media time: 1.25 hours

I’ve decided to donate a dollar for every hour I read to the Charleston Public Library, in honor of Cynthia Hurd–the branch manager who was among those killed in the attack on the Emanuel AME church.

This was a great reading experience for me–I got quite a few books read and set a new personal record for number of books read in one day (6 yesterday). I found a few things to be true: I read books that I had been putting off for awhile, because I wasn’t sure if I would like them or not and I read books that could be breezed through. For instance, I didn’t start re-reading Hild, because I want to give that one my full attention and I knew that I wouldn’t. So this challenge is great for me in terms of getting books I’ve been meaning to get around to and just haven’t quite looked at yet read (or dnf’d) and off my shelves.

I’m really glad this worked out this year, and thanks to MotherReader for organizing it once again!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “#48hbc: Finishing line post

  1. I always love the impetus this challenge gives me, and this year I actually want to sit down and read more, which can’t hurt….

  2. So glad that you enjoyed it and that you connected it with something meaningful! Thanks for playing!

  3. Pingback: June 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

