#48hbc: Saturday evening

Reading time: 19 hours
Total books read: 10
Blogging/social media time: 1 hour

The Turning Season by Sharon Shinn: The third book in Shinn’s Shapeshifter trilogy. I think this one is my favorite, partly because I really like Karadel, and partly because having the narrative from her point of view really helped my enjoyment of the book. The ending was a bit sadder than I was expecting, and I’m not entirely sure if it worked for me, but overall I liked it.

Stolen Magic by Gail Carson Levine: I’m pretty indifferent about this one. It’s fine–a middle grade fantasy/mystery, with an emphasis on the mystery. But while I didn’t mind reading it (I did finish, after all) I also wasn’t really excited about it. (But then I’m also probably unfairly comparing this one to Ella Enchanted.)

Rook by Sharon Cameron: A post-apocalyptic book based on The Scarlet Pimpernel. I loooved it. I love The Scarlet Pimpernel anyway, and Cameron is doing some really fun things with the story–nice little touches of homage without tying herself to the plot when it doesn’t work for the story she’s telling. Plus, Sophia–this version of the Pimpernel–is a great character, and I found the romance pretty swoony. (secrets! trust issues! roof climbing!)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “#48hbc: Saturday evening

  1. ejmam

    I always enjoy Sharon Shinn’s books, both YA and adult. Or when I can’t tell the difference.

  2. I didn’t realize Rook was base on The Scarlet Pimpernel! I didn’t know this. i will definitely be reading it now!

  3. Pingback: June 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

