#48hbc: Friday evening

My start time was 6 pm, right after I got off of work. I listened to part of an audiobook on my drive home and then read the rest of the time.

Reading time: 5.5 hours
Total books completed: 4
Blogging/social media: 0.5 hours

Captain Marvel vol 1: In Pursuit of Flight: Ana said this one was great and that I would like it (WWII! Female pilots!) and she was absolutely right. I loved Carol Danvers, and how much of the story was centered on her friendships with other women, the sense of history and feminism in both the past and present. I didn’t love the art, but I truly enjoyed this one and will definitely be looking for other Captain Marvel books. (Plus, she leads into Ms. Marvel who of course I loooooove.)

Seriously Wicked by Tina Connolly: At some point I had a Twitter conversation about the lack of light, fun fantasy books. This one is just that–a girl who’s been raised by a wicked witch and has to stop her from taking over the world. It’s funny, and I loved Camellia, the main character. There’s also a sweet romance and a great best friend relationship. Very enjoyable!

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh: A sweeping retelling of the story of Scheherazade. I liked the characters and the scale of the story. Occasionally I found the prose a little clunky or overblown, but in general this was a fast paced, exciting read.

Illusionarium by Heather Dixon: I wasn’t sure what to expect from this one, but it was pretty neat. Although I’m often bothered when things are needlessly compared to The Hunger Games, there was kind of a steampunky Hunger Games vibe to this one. But Jonathan’s voice–detached but caring, decidedly snarky–is really what made this one work for me.

started: Endless Night by Agatha Christie (audiobook)

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “#48hbc: Friday evening

  1. Way to go! You’re off to a great start!

  2. Pingback: June 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

