Links from around the web: 6-17-15

How I Discovered I am White” by Janelle Hanchett: “I realized the reason I had never thought about race was because I was of the privileged one, because I didn’t have to, NOT BECAUSE RACIAL DISPARITY DIDN’T EXIST. I didn’t have to think about race because I was having a fundamentally different life experience than people of color. But I could ignore them, because of my privilege.”

“Feminism isn’t about making women stronger. Women are already strong. It’s about changing the way the world perceives that strength.” — G.D. Anderson

A helpful self-care checklist.

A new Anne of Green Gables mini-series is in the works. Starring Martin Sheen as Matthew. Personally, I’m not excited.

Other people also love UPROOTED! The Book Smugglers, Renay @ Lady Business, Rachel Neumeier

WARNING: HERE THERE BE PUPPIES. As discussed a bit on Monday, the 2015 Hugos just keep getting worse. I would say that we’ve hit rock bottom at this point, but I’m pretty sure that’s not actually true. At any rate, here’s the gross message from Tom Doherty (plus almost 500 comments, almost completely unmoderated, BEWARE). Also responses from: Chuck Wendig, Kameron Hurley, Natalie Luhrs, and Brenna Clarke Gray.

Okay, having saddened you all with that, I have recently fallen in love with a few Parks & Rec mashup blogs. There’s Parks and Rings, Parks and Cap, and Parks and Prejudice (LBD).

I’ve seen some excellent DWJ fanart in the last few weeks! Here’s one for Dark Lord of Derkholm, and also Tanaqui (and a character sketch).

I loved this quote about fairy tales.

1 Comment

Filed under links

One response to “Links from around the web: 6-17-15

  1. Pingback: June 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

