Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

This week the topic is our summer TBR lists. I’ve talked quite recently about releases that I’m looking forward to for this month and for the rest of the year. Rather than talk about new and upcoming books, here are a few reading goals I want to achieve. (This list is not binding. Also, it doesn’t include things like my ongoing Reading Notes series.)

1. Finish the published Foreigner books
2. Read Helen Castor’s Joan of Arc and re-read Nicola Griffith’s Hild
3. Re-read The Winter Prince, Gaudy Night, Queen of Attolia, and A Civil Campaign, and maybe Swordspoint (at which point I will collapse from the Feels)
4. Read Call the Midwife!
5. Read a book by Sarah Waters (any suggestions for which one?)
6. Finish Courtney Summers’ backlist
7. Try the Frances Brody books
8. Finish Judith Riley’s books!
9. Read some more Mary Renault
10. Read the next book in the Steerswoman series

And in the interests of actually doing some of these, I’ve put several books on hold. Hurrah!

12 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Summer TBR

  1. alinaccl

    Kind of off topic, but have you read The Lie Tree (Frances Hardinge)? Just finished it and I would love to read your thoughts because I can’t articulate how fantastic it is! Seems especially apropos with Tim Hunt’s comments about women in science recently…

    • Maureen Eichner

      Not yet, because it hasn’t been published in the US. But I think I’m going to go ahead and buy from the UK because I’ve been hearing such fantastic things about it.

  2. The Lie Treeeeeee! Definitely worth ordering from Book Dep if you can. It’s so, so amazing.

    I adore each and every one of Sarah Water’s novels, but the one I’d recommend to you particularly is The Night Watch, because of your interest in women in WW2 and your love for The Bletchley Circle. It’s my second favourite, right after Fingersmith, and it’s so brilliant and heartbreaking. Code Name Verity reminded me of it in some ways, even though they’re very different plot-wise. Sold yet? 😛

    • Maureen Eichner

      I left this page to put a hold on it before I finished reading your comment, so YES.

      And your comment pushed me over the edge. Book Depository, here I come!

  3. Hurrah Sarah Waters!!! For real summer-reading-y stuff, I’d say go for Tipping The Velvet, which is both an outrageously fun romp and very emotionally charged. I haven’t read any of her three newer, quieter, less Dickensian works yet, but Night Watch does also sound like something you’d enjoy.

  4. Oh, I’ve wanted to read Mary Renault for a while. I have Fire From Heaven on my Kindle, but I haven’t gotten around to it yet.

  5. R

    Re-read The Winter Prince, Gaudy Night, Queen of Attolia

    The stating of that very intention makes me feel fluttery. I haven’t read the other two books you mentioned – yet – but for me those three might be in themselves sufficient to cause a collapse due to Feels…

  6. Pingback: June 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

