Made and Making: May 2015

Herb Roasted Chicken Thighs: I made these without the potatoes and served them with lemon rice. It’s a simple recipe and very tasty!

Black Tea Cake: I forgot to add the baking soda and powder, so my cake was a little…flat. The taste was still delicious–I made a simple sour cream frosting.

Toasted Oatmeal: I have issues with regular oatmeal. This nuttier, toasted version helped the texture problem, and nothing cooked in butter can be bad.

Broccoli, Cheddar, and Rice Casserole: I made this with brown rice instead of wild rice, and it turned out really well!

Cherry Almond Dutch Baby: So, the texture of this was completely different than what’s pictured in the original recipe–maybe I didn’t mix it long enough? But the cherry almond flavor was amazing.

Cherry Brown Butter Bars: I made these a few years ago and remembered them being really good. They are! This time, I added a little almond extract, which I think was even better.

Lentil-Spinach Stew: So I liked this soup quite a bit, but I think the flavor could have used punching up a little bit. Cumin? Paprika? Not quite sure, but definitely something.

Ginger-Rhubarb Streusel Bread: THIS IS SO GOOD. I hadn’t tried ginger & rhubarb as a combination before, but I rapidly fell in love with it.

Dreamy Cream Scones: I’m always on the lookout for scones that aren’t the American biscuity kind. These are nice British-style ones.

Poached Egg, Watercress and Apple Salad and Mustard Hazelnut Vinaigrette: I didn’t serve this over bread, and I didn’t have hazelnuts so I just left that out. But this was still a lovely meal.

Leek and Swiss Chard Tart: I love a good savory tart, and this was a nice one. (Mmmm, leeks.)

Kasha Pudding (Good to the Grain): I had high hopes for this one, but unfortunately the texture was not at all okay with me. (I have a thing about textures.) I may try again with the barley pudding from the same cookbook.

Polenta with Mushroom Ragu and a Poached egg (Working Class Foodies): This isn’t necessarily a meal I would typically be interested in, but the flavors were a great combination and I discovered I love poached eggs.

Lemon Rice (Crabtree & Evelyn): I think next time I would add a little more lemon zest, but this was a great side dish!

2 Comments

Filed under cooking adventures

2 responses to “Made and Making: May 2015

  1. love all these links, thanks for sharing them! you sure make a lot of yummy things! 🙂

  2. Pingback: May 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

