A new feature, with a request for input

Long-time readers may remember that a few years ago, I did a week of in-depth posts looking at Martha Wells‘s books and that more recently I did a similar week of in-depth posts focused on Lois McMaster Bujold. I’ve been mulling over doing something similar as a regular feature. In short, I would be taking a deeper, closer look at some books and authors that I have already read and find rich and engaging. Here are a few authors I’ve thought of including:

  • Patricia McKillip
  • Robin McKinley
  • Frances Hardinge
  • Connie Willis
  • Diana Wynne Jones

Here’s where the input part comes in–are there books, or authors (or even topics) that you’d like to see me look at? Bear in mind that I’d prefer books and authors I already have some familiarity with (and even that have reviews here) so I can focus on taking a deeper look at the stories and patterns and themes. Let me know! I can’t promise anything, but I’d love to hear suggestions.

EDIT: To clarify, I’m definitely planning to look at all of the authors listed above! If you have suggestions for authors I haven’t listed please do also let me know.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “A new feature, with a request for input

  1. I would *love* to read your in-depth thoughts on Frances Hardinge’s work, and/or DWJ’s. I think this feature sounds like a great idea, and to be honest I’d read your thoughts on any of the authors you’ve mentioned – but Hardinge and Wynne Jones are the ones I have most familiarity with myself! (Also, maybe, Ursula le Guin, if she was of interest to you).

  2. Hardinge! I’m not as familiar with her (yet), so that would be not just interesting, but useful.

  3. Your five choices all sound fabulous to me! I would leave the choice up to you and what you find inspiring.

  4. Quite honestly I’d love to see your thoughts on all five authors! Three out of five I’ve never read, and while I’ve given DWJ and FH a chance (reading a few books in the former case, and just Fly By Night in the latter) I didn’t end up liking them, and haven’t returned to any other of their books. And yet so many book bloggers rave about both of these authors that I’m puzzled what I’m missing.

    • alinaccl

      I couldn’t get into Fly By Night but lovelovelove FH’s other books — maybe give Lost Conspiracy/Gullstruck Island a go?

      • Maureen Eichner

        Lost Conspiracy is my favorite of hers and I’d love to revisit it. I also know I want to look at A Face Like Glass, because I haven’t read it as often as some of the others.

Leave a Reply

