Top Ten Tuesday: Books to revisit

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

There are so many favorite books I want to re-read! Some of them I used to read all the time, and others I’ve only read once but want to revisit.

lavwinter princepaladinbloodline rising

Among Others by Jo Walton: I LOVE THIS BOOK. LOVE IT. And there’s so much richness and complexity to Mori’s story that I definitely want to read this one again and soon.

Lavinia by Ursula LeGuin: Because Ursula K. LeGuin! Because Lavinia is one of those characters who proves you don’t need to be badass to be strong and complex. Because I loved seeing the Aeneid through her eyes.

Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold: Ista is one of my favorite characters ever; she’s somehow angry without being bitter, or at least without being hopeless. Even though she’s at a very different time of life, I love her journey and her relationship with faith.

Sabriel by Garth Nix: I know someone is probably going to rise up and smite me, but I have only read Sabriel once. I KNOW. But I loved it, and I really want to revisit that world (especially since I don’t want to try Clariel before a reread).

Betsy’s Wedding by Maud Hart Lovelace: I’m a lifelong fan of Betsy Ray, but this is my favorite book, because it shows Betsy as an adult, learning how to be fully herself without setting aside her dreams. Plus, the ending is perfect.

The Winter Prince by Elizabeth Wein: For several years in a row, I read this one every January, but I haven’t managed that recently. Heartbreaking family relationships, a somewhat unreliable narrator, and gorgeous writing. It’s like a square of dark chocolate that you eat slowly and savor the whole time.

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater: I’ve read this one a few times, but not very recently. And I love Puck and Sean and their story. My favorite Maggie Stiefvater book to date and possibly ever.

Bloodline Rising by Katy Moran: This is a somewhat Sutcliff-y, somewhat Megan Whalen Turner-y historical fantasy set in Byzantium and Britain. It also features a cocky thief and complex family relationships. I loved it, and I’d really like to revisit it.

The Chrestomanci series by Diana Wynne Jones: I’m really just overdue for an epic DWJ reread, but it’s been an especially long time since I read Chrestomanci. Since they were some of the first DWJ books I ever read, this is just sad.

Chalice by Robin McKinley: As with Diana Wynne Jones, I’m really just overdue for an epic reread of all McKinley. But I really enjoy Chalice, which has a marvelous texture to it.

4 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to revisit

  1. You’re inspiring me to make my own list again! I’ve reread Paladin of Souls, Sabriel, the Scorpio Races, and Chalice from this list… I will sigh and say I’ve never quite made it through Chrestomanci, mostly because I didn’t discover him until recently, and I have such a hard time sticking with longer series these days unless they’re on audio. (I’ve listened to all the DWJ my library has, though, and read some others in print!) I really need to read Lavinia… and maybe I should reread Among Others… and now I’m intrigued by several other titles you have here I hadn’t heard of. You may feel free to look down on me for only having read through all of MWT once.

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Re-Read Fantasy Books from Childhood | alibrarymama

  3. Texture! That’s a great word to describe that, uh, indescribable aspect of a book. The McKinley title I most want to re-read right now is SUNSHINE.

    I’ve only ever read SABRIEL once, too — and I don’t really remember it that well. Terrible, I agree.

    I’ve only read THE SCORPIO RACES once. I bet after Stiefvater finishes THE RAVEN BOYS quadrilogy, that I go on a Stiefvater kick and read all of those and then THE SCORPIO RACES again. I might even try SHIVER again at that point, though I couldn’t get into it the first time I picked it up.

    Also, I just picked up a copy of BLOODLINE RISING.

  4. Pingback: March 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

