Library Displays: Amazing Women and Spring

Amazing Women

The first display I made in March was highlighting Women’s History Month. I created a graphic in Publisher which I would be sharing right now if I hadn’t accidentally deleted it. And then I pulled together a bunch of books, trying to feature different times and kinds of being women, as well as representing a diverse group. I think I ended up with a good mix, and this display circulated really well for a more serious subject. I mostly focused on picture book biographies, because I think they’re more eye-catching, with some non-fiction mixed in.

Spring

I always enjoy putting together a spring display for the library. Last year, I did a row of over-sized tulips and the year  before I did a rainy day theme. This year, I was inspired by a program I did a month or so ago, where we made tissue paper flowers. I created a swag of colorful flowers, printed off a banner, and assembled it.

image

The finished product

image

Here’s a close-up of the flowers. Some of them were inspired by real flowers, and some weren’t, but I’m very happy with how they turned out overall (I tried to make a tulip and it looks like a poppy, I think because tissue paper isn’t stiff enough to hold shape well).

image

What I especially like about this display is the three-dimensional aspect. My normal default is to make displays that are 2-D, because I like paper crafting. But this is really different and eye-catching, imo. Something to remember!

5 Comments

Filed under Library

5 responses to “Library Displays: Amazing Women and Spring

  1. Nice! And now I want to start posting pics of my library’s displays! 😀

  2. Pingback: March 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

