Favorite Authors: Terry Pratchett

I was planning to write a favorite authors post today and talk about Connie Willis. And I will definitely talk about Connie Willis soon, because she is wonderful, but I can’t pass up the opportunity to talk about Terry Pratchett a little bit.

I’m actually a very late-comer to Pratchett fandom. I read a few of the main Discworld books in 2009, but I bounced pretty hard off of them and decided that Pratchett might not be for me. Then for a reason I can’t now remember, I decided to try the Tiffany Aching books in 2012 and I loved them. And then several people told me to try the City Watch books and I tried Night Watch and cried a lot.

I still bounce pretty hard off of the main Discworld books (I WANT to like them, but something about the satire? irreverence? I can’t quite put it into words? doesn’t quite work for me) but I love both the Tiffany Aching and Watch books so much that they’re one of those series I retcon into thinking I’ve read them for far longer than I actually have. They’re a wonderful mix of trenchant and kind. I’m so grateful for his stories and so sad that they’re finished.

Favorite books by Terry Pratchett
1. A Hat Full of Sky
2. Night Watch
3. I Shall Wear Midnight
4. The Fifth Elephant
5. The Wee Free Men

All of my Terry Pratchett reviews
Mort, briefly (2009)
Reaper Man, briefly (2009)
Good Omens, briefly (2011)
The Wee Free Men, briefly (2012)
A Hat Full of Sky, briefly (2012)
The Wintersmith, briefly (2012)
I Shall Wear Midnight, briefly (2012)
Night Watch (2013)
Feet of Clay, briefly (2013)
Jingo, briefly (2013)
The Fifth Elephant, briefly (2013)
Thud!, briefly (2014)

5 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

5 responses to “Favorite Authors: Terry Pratchett

  1. Pingback: March 2015 round-up | By Singing Light

  2. Yes, yes! I read two different Discworld books a few years ago and basically had the same reaction; I almost liked them, but the irreverence and innuendo did get to me, and I couldn’t love them. Part of the time I felt like I couldn’t really grasp Discworld and was confused about the stories, but it may have been the order i was trying to read them in, or rather, lack of order. But then when Terry Pratchett passed away, I saw you, and a number of other friends I trust when it comes to literature, talking about the TIffany Aching books. So I got them for cheap and I’m currently half way through A HAt Full of Sky. I am sorry that I didn’t know and love these books before he dies… that seems to happen with me a lot, finding out about a great author just before or after they die. :/ But honestly though, the Nac Mac Feegle! I just want them to hang around with me.

    • Maureen Eichner

      Yes, the TIffany Aching books are so lovely! I’m glad you’re enjoying them. I also like the City Watch books (starting with Guards! Guards!, but it might be worth reading Night Watch first so you can see who Sam Vimes grows into), so if you’re looking for another Pratchett series, that might be one to try.

  3. Also – did you hear that another Tiffany Aching book was his last work to be finished, and is coming out late this year??

Leave a Reply

