Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Heroines

top-ten-tuesday
This is a post for Top Ten Tuesday, hosted at The Broke and the Bookish. You can find out more and follow along there!

This topic was so hard. I started off with a list of 33 names. THIRTY-THREE. So you’ll have to forgive me for actually going to fifteen. It’s the best I can do.

wheel of the infinite perilous gard medair

Kate Sutton from The Perilous Gard by Elizabeth Marie Pope: Kate Sutton has been one of my favorite characters ever since I read The Perilous Gard for the first time. She’s stubborn and prickly, but also loyal and sensitive and entirely sympathetic.

Medair from the Medair Duology by Andrea K Höst: I have liked several of Höst’s main characters, but Mediar is definitely one of my favorites. She is out of her own time and has to face a series of almost impossible choices. It’s her strength in the face of this that I think I most appreciate.

Maskelle from Wheel of the Infinite by Martha Wells: Maskelle is older than many of the characters I have loved. She has history, and she brings the weight of her experience to the story. She’s also fantastic and awesome.

Ista from Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold: Ista’s journey in Paladin of Souls is one of my favorites ever.

Sophie Hatter from Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones: Sophie is one of those characters that I just instantly loved. If you describe her, she might sound a bit passive, but she’s really anything but.

Sorrows-Knot lost conspiracy strong poison
Laura Chant from The Changeover by Margaret Mahy: Laura is another character who is prickly and fierce and wholly endearing.

Tiffany Aching from the Tiffany Aching series by Terry Pratchett: I love Tiffany: her care for other people, her ambition and her limits on that ambition. I love how she is independent and fierce, and yet very connected to her community and the land.

Otter from Sorrow’s Knot by Erin Bow: I’m not wild about the Chosen One trope at this point, for many reasons, but I make an exception for Otter, who is brave and beautiful.

Hathin from The Lost Conspiracy by Frances Hardinge: I really love Hathin for a lot of reasons, one of which is that she’s not the Chosen One, and yet she’s a marvelous character.

Harriet Vane from Strong Poison, Gaudy Night, etc. by Dorothy Sayers: I would like to be Harriet, and not just because of Peter (though that…doesn’t hurt). I just love her, her strengths and her frailties. I love her stubbornness and her refusal to give Peter anything that’s not on her own terms. And her warmth and humor too.

uses for boys girls at the kingfisher cnv us pb 2
Taylor Markham from Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta: I love Jellicoe Road for a lot of reasons, including the fact that it always makes me cry. But the biggest reason of all is Taylor and her voice. This was one of the first contemporary YAs that I really loved, and it’s really because of Taylor and her journey.

Anna from Uses for Boys by Erica Lorraine Scheidt: Anna is a character I didn’t instantly love, but came to really value. And her story is one that’s really stayed with me ever since I read it.

Jo Hamilton from The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine: Jo is hard and fierce and stubborn and heart-breakingly alone. I loved her so much.

Julie and Maddie from Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein: Well, they make a sensational team.

Betsy Ray from the Betsy-Tacy series by Maud Hart Lovelace: I have loved Anne Shirley and Jo March and many other classic heroines. But Betsy Ray is the one that I think of myself as most like; she’s the most human and everyday.

8 Comments

Filed under bookish posts

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Favorite Heroines

  1. Ooh, what a wonderful list! I especially agree with Betsy and Harriet. And Sophie. And … well, I could go on and on here. 🙂

  2. R

    I can agree to a lot of those… which makes a good recommendation for the others. 🙂
    Kate is one of my favorites, too, and in my opinion a great way to write a “feisty” sort of heroine without making her annoying. As for Harriet, I probably have portions of Gaudy Night memorized by now – and Julie and Maddie, well, words usually fail me. (I had a good experience recently recommending CNV to a friend of mine… she finally read it, loved it, and gave it to her husband who also read it.)

  3. Kate, Harriet, and Maddie all made my list too. I love a lot of these other girls as well, of course. 🙂

  4. I have not met many of these ladies, and you make me feel I should… but I’m very much with you on Ista, Tiffany, Sophie and Jo Hamilton!

  5. Kingfisher’s is on my TBR! And I love Code Name Verity!

  6. Pingback: February 2015 round up | By Singing Light

  7. Pingback: 2015 Favorites: Blog posts and series | By Singing Light

  8. Pingback: BBAW: Introduction | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

