Library Displays: January-February 2015

bedtime

I wanted to take a look at some of the displays I’ve done in the children’s room recently. With the change in my job, some of my focus has moved away from displays, but I am still trying to do at least two a month. These are from the past two months.

Bedtime: This is always a popular topic and it seemed like January was a good time for snuggly stories about going to bed. I put together the banner above in Publisher, using some graphic elements and an Alison Jay illustration.

Creativity: I actually called this one “Make It” on the banner and tried to feature a number of different ideas of making–food, art, clothing, crafts, and other creative projects. We were very overdue for a non-fiction oriented display and I was pleased with how this one went.

Black History Month: This year and last I’ve been trying to make Black History Month displays that are creative and inspiring. Last year, with the focus on the 50th anniversary of the March on Washington, I went with “Let Freedom Ring” and tried to feature some of the many different people who were involved in the 1960s civil rights movement. This year, I focused on both fiction and non-fiction books which were created by black writers and illustrators. It’s circulated pretty well! And I’m renewing my own commitment to be sure to include diverse books in all displays, not just the heritage months.

Sheep Tales: According to the Chinese zodiac, this is the year of the sheep (or maybe goat? sources seem to disagree). I’m not doing a display directly based on that, but it did seem like an opportunity to pull out some of the picture books and non-fiction that feature sheep.

1 Comment

Filed under Library

One response to “Library Displays: January-February 2015

  1. Pingback: February 2015 round up | By Singing Light

Leave a Reply

